You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Part 1: Objections to "Death as sleeping". A look at what some of the arguments against the state of the dead.

in #christianity6 years ago

An honest question... in the Bible how many people did god kill? And also how many people did satan kill? What makes him evil? Your god is a god of light my friend. So bright he can blind you. Learn to think for yourself.

Sort:  

I don't have an answer to your seemingly honest questions of how many people God or satan killed; however, I might be able to answer the question of what makes satan evil. From a Biblical perspective I believe the general understanding is that Lucifer "turned" evil after his pride got in the way and instead of focusing on God's glory, Lucifer wanted to be like God and have the glory for himself. Pride and selfishness, egotistical...those traits are some things that make Lucifer a.k.a satan evil.

I will state right know as a warning I don’t not believe in any version of the Bible. However I was raised catholic and am still fascinated by it. This is a serious question . And I am curious, but in a sense didn’t the devil sacrifice himself for humanity sort of like Jesus. he wanted to give humans knowledge and he was banished from heaven knowing that he would be. That seems selfless to me. I just don’t see how he is evil from the Bible. And for god to be all powerful and all knowing why would he need to banish Satan from heaven unless he felt threatened? God seems like the egotistical and selfish one needing obedient slaves as humans to follow rules almost like his love is conditional. No disrespect intended.

Well, I guess it depends on where you are getting your informaton from.

If you don't believe or trust any version of the Bible I'm just curious where you got the informaton about satan in the first place and where other than the Bible you've obtained about satan being banished from heaven and what his purpose was in doing what he does; or the fact that he exists at all. Very curious about that. Is this something you heard about being raised Catholic or somewhere else?

I am also curious (on a side note) about the warning you gave me and why you do not believe any version of the Bible and what all of that is about...sounds like an interesting story of how that came about.

I guess I didn’t mean I don’t believe it I just think that is not true if that makes my sense. There is many good things in the Bible. Jesus’s sermon on Temple Mount is probably one of the best contributions to humanity that exists. But do I not think he was free of sin, or childless. Maybe Satan exists but maybe he doesn’t, but that’s for the desert people. I found truth in my native religion of paganism. A connection to earth, ancestry, and reincarnation. It is very similar to Hinduism and I feel that may be its roots, ( just a feeling) but all I know is it make sense to me and I was Blinded by the Christian god. I lived in fear, anxiety guilt, shame for existing. I never felt like I belonged didn’t know who I was. But all that changed when I discovered the religion of my ancestors. That being said I still can’t changed the fact that I was raised catholic. I still find value in the Bible same as the Tao, quaran, and other texts. And sadly The Christians feared our religion So much they destroyed ever trace of it they could, and prevented what was left of it. That’s why I’m warning you they only allow for one truth even though there may be others. The official stance of the church is that the old gods exist but worshiping them will land you in hell.

I'm so sorry you lived in fear, guilt and condemnation. It's an error by preachers, who have portrayed alot in not-so-full light.

If you got questions let's talk.

The offer the devil made to Eve was not an offer to help her. It was to condemn her as a "lawbreaker" therefore deserving of death. You see, Lucifer himself was a lawbreaker and accused God of being unfair with His laws. In his accusation, he convinced a third of the angels to rebel against God. Lucifer did this out of jealousy because he wanted to be like God. The devil is just a coward who doesn't want to die alone.

Now, God doesn't force anyone to love Him. He gives everyone free-will. The devil serves as an example of what life is like when we are free of Gods laws. Because of the devil, we have wars, death, rape, illnesses, and suffering. That is the product of lawlessness. God's laws offer true freedom. While you are in Gods law, you will not murder, lie, steal, have envy and you will love your neighbor as yourself. Without God's laws, you are subject to "anything goes" mentality. How safe would you feel if you left your house to get groceries, but laws don't exist? You probably wouldn't want to even leave your house! It just would not be safe out there without ANY laws in place. Therefore, laws serve to protect you and ensure your happiness.

What God is offering is life eternal with Him. God is a social being who loves our company, which is why He said that He's prepared a mansion for each of us and He wants to dwell with us for all eternity.

Wow...... This is not something to preach over steemit, but I'll try.
First you got it twisted in your understanding of God. God is all-knowing and doesn't react to situations(if you need more explanations on this I would be glad to do that)
God was not keeping the fruit from man is any way to keep him dumb and foolish. But he gave man a will when he created him and wanted him to have the freedom to choose to obey God and not acts like a robot.

In the realm of the Spirit, you excel in knowledge by accessing the presence of God frequently, even the devil knew this, he was the brightest of all Angels before he simply had more access to God's throne than the others.
That's why God made it a point of duty to meet with man,every evening in the cool of the day, to the end that man would excel in knowledge by having more access to his presence.

@balticbadger, I understand. It’s hard to read certain things in the Bible. But to put things into perspective, when the U.S. puts people to death in prison, is it justified? When the U.S. fought against Hitler and kills thousands of his soldiers, was that justified?

Generally speaking, we would all agree there are justified times when people who do evil need to be put down. They have been given all the opportunity to change and do good, but they preferred evil.

In the same way, God is just in any life He takes. Whereas the Devil takes lives without cause. There is no comparison between the two.

Sir, those are not good examples. I was a soldier in war and I can tell you that it’s not so black and white. I was in combat and have seen death and I’m sorry to say it was never justifiable. It’s not a Hollywood movie. Many german citizens were murdered by allied bombs months before the blitz. And the us has a bad track record of killing innocent people as well. Just as in the Bible, when god flooded the earth I would have to believe children were murdered and god himself says children are innocent so how is that justified?

First I want to thank you for your service. War is never pretty. God takes no pleasure in the death of anyone.

Now, my example is not about the granular "gray areas", but instead to the specific and clear areas where we all can agree it is justifiable. In general, as a society, we have all agreed that Hitler deserved the death penalty. Everyone understands that there is not much of a choice but to remove by any means necessary, even death.

With that framework in mind, when God does this, He gives the people plenty of opportunities to change. When Moses was ordered to eliminate certain towns, it was because judgment had been passed. The people God had judged were the most detestable pagans you can imagine. Offering child sacrifices to their gods. They were people, just as cruel as Hitler. God gave them over 400 years to change, but they preferred evil over good.

Therefore, there is no question about Gods justice. These were people who were as lawless as you can get.

The reason you are not looking like one of the descendants of the Anakimss because of that flood.
Man's race was soiled by the intermingling of fallen angels-nephilims with women.

Wiping off almost all of the earth was a salvation plan to help man

God is just. He's just when he condemns unbelievers to hell for an eternity.