You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curmudgeon's Bible - What Are The "Governing Authorities" of Romans 13:1?

in #christianity7 years ago

"What do you think Paul is talking about here?"

Great question.

I plan, God willing and over a period of time, to write more about Romans 13 in context... not only its immediate context, but also the entirety of scripture. I believe it is one of the most severely abused and misused and consequently most widely misconstrued and misunderstood passages in the bible.

I believe that this passage, seen in its larger context, is not speaking exclusively about civil authority, though it may subsume civil authority within its scope.

Thanks for visiting and commenting.

Sort:  

Yeah, I agree it's been widely abused. It's one of the more difficult passages for me. Can't wait to hear your take on it, brother!