You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curmudgeon's Bible - What Are The "Governing Authorities" of Romans 13:1?

in #christianity7 years ago

Hi Timothy, thank you for your thoughtful comments.

"Regardless of how one translates the Greek, the state is the object of the passage."

This may be partially true. I believe that this passage, seen in its larger context, is not speaking exclusively about civil authority, though it may subsume civil authority in its scope.

I do agree that head-on resistance is not a good or wise program, and also that this passage may in part be counseling a degree of cooperation where appropriate.

However, there is and must be a clear place for resistance ( James 4:7, I Peter 5:9) when the action and intent of the state is demonic and when we see an opportunity to defend our brethren.

Finally, Thank you for the link to Marcus and Servant King, I will look over that material as I have opportunity.