The Curmudgeon's Bible - "Hallowed Be Thy Name" - Thinking About Jesus

in #christianity7 years ago (edited)

"Pray then like this:
    “Our Father in heaven,
      hallowed be your name."

- Jesus -

This entry in "The Curmudgeon's Bible" series isn't going to follow the "standard template." It will, rather, be more "contemplative." (Pun very much intended.)

Most of you have heard of "The Lord's Prayer."

You may or may not believe in Jesus. Regardless, this article is for you.

Table of Contents

"Hallowed Be Thy Name" (source)

I hope to share a small insight into the mind of a believer.

Table of Contents
I believe Jesus created the universe. (source)

That true believer would be me.

I have many followers online, among whom are a far smaller number of faithful readers, and a handful of greatly appreciated regular voters. Some share my faith in Jesus, others, not so much.

I believe that Jesus is in truth the infinitely mighty God who created the universe and all of us in it.

You may already believe that to be true.

If you don't, please don't stop reading. I recognize that "faith" is not like some light switch that you can flip on or off. I know that I can't force faith on you.

For the moment, please just understand: I honestly believe, at the very core of my being, that Jesus is the Creator/God. Got it?

Good, now I can explain this part of "The Lord's Prayer" to you.

Table of Contents
The universe is an artifact. (source)

Let's start with "hallowed."

"Hallowed" is a somewhat archaic English word meaning "recognized as highly respected and honored."

The prayer insists, "Hallowed be thy name."

Why would I desperately desire that the name of Jesus be recognized, highly respected, and honored?

Consider the possibility that the universe is a created thing.

If you came to believe that the universe is something someone made, what would your attitude be towards that "someone?"

I believe that the universe is an artifact.

I believe that Jesus made it. That he created it, out of nothing. The bible portrays God as literally speaking the universe into existence. This blows my mind. It fills me with admiration and awe. I find my thoughts overflowing with curiosity, with questions.

In a recent article,

I shared with delight that the universe is ten times or more larger than previously believed. How ought we to think about one who could create something of such incomprehensible magnitude and beauty?

What rational mind, when faced with the possibility of such an overwhelmingly powerful person, could ever disdain him, or minimize his worth?

Table of Contents

"Sunrise" (source)

Jesus is worthy.

He is worthy of our worship, our praise, our admiration, and our awe. If he created everything, and I believe that he did, how could such a magnum opus not demand our respect?


Table of Contents

Milky way over pinnacles. (source)

When I see and hear people disrespect Jesus,

I find it disturbing. I am troubled.

It's not that Jesus can't "take it." Of course he can.

If you were the creator of the universe, do you think you would be much bothered by mere mortals who didn't acknowledge or respect you? Hey, you made them. You gave them free will. Their irrational disdain is their own loss.

Nevertheless, it troubles me.

Jesus deserves better. He deserves respect and honor, the honor due an artist or an artisan who creates something of magnificent, transcendent beauty and value.

Table of Contents

Have we lost our sense of wonder? (source)

When I pray "Hallowed be thy name,"

that is the heart-felt cry of my being.


ἁγιασθήτω - verb: aorist, passive, imperative, 3rd, singular

  1. to render or acknowledge, or to be venerable or hallow

Notice that the word is a passive imperative. "May your name be hallowed."

If Jesus is in reality the creator of everything, doesn't that demand our respect?

I long for the day when every living being will understand and know and acknowledge Jesus for who he is. I pine for a universe at peace and rest in the knowledge of God.

Furthermore, I expect that universe. God has promised that it will one day arrive:

"They shall not hurt or destroy
    in all my holy mountain;
for the earth shall be full of the knowledge of the Lord
    as the waters cover the sea."

- Isaiah 11:9


Table of Contents

The universe: truly magnificent. (source)

Perhaps translators could do better than "Hallowed..."

But any adequate English translation would inevitably have to be an explanation, a multiplicity of words.

I must conclude that I feel it such a shame that the word "hallowed" has fallen into disuse. I'm saddened to observe that "hallowed" is so unfamiliar in the modern day.

This time around, I may have to side with the translators. The use of "hallowed" may be appropriately remedial. Our lack of familiarity reflects more a deficiency in our thinking, the "dumbing down" of the English speaking world, than an egregious failure of bible translators.

"God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father."
- Philippians 2:9-11

One day, all will recognize Jesus for who he is.

May that day come soon.


~FIN~


For much more of @creatr, click on the library image below:
CircleLib.jpg


Sort:  

One day, all will recognize Jesus for who he is.
May that day come soon.

Amen.

I still pray The Lord's Prayer on a daily basis, and use hallowed. It doesn't feel the same with some of the other translations.

nice

Thank you. :)

I love your writing not only because I can feel the reverence you have for our Lord but also because you can defend your faith with strength and substance. Great post!

Thank you very much, dear friend and sister... :D

Your words this evening come like a refreshing draft of cool mountain water... Much appreciated!

Amen, brother. May that day come soon when all will recognize His glory!

Thanks, friend...

How are you and your family doing? It's been entirely too long since I've visited your blog. I'm glad you dropped by, I'll do that now! ;)

Thank you, I appreciate that. We suffered the loss of my father last month at the young age of 65. Needless to say it was a difficult time, but we are all healing. He gave his life to Jesus, so we know he is doing very well now.

I'm so very sorry for your loss... );

Glad to hear that he is a believer. :D

Thank you, and yes, the fact that he is with Christ is a great comfort.

Hi @creatr..i just want u to read this, just read. I saw you re-steemed the Marawi stuff, thanks again for the support.
https://steemit.com/life/@immarojas/a-piece-of-me

You're welcome.

Thanks for sharing your story...

You're very much welcome, wanted you to see it.

Thank you for this. I have just read a book by Benny Hinn, called "Good Morning, Holy Spirit". He also discusses a "template" for prayer, based on how Jesus taught his disciples to pray. I believe that the Word of God is the truth. I was a Christian all my life, but I am fairly newly reborn in the Spirit. It is just wonderful how words in the Bible now suddenly almost pop out from the pages, as I am more and more led by the Holy Spirit.

I recently heard a sermon by our pastor, specifically talking about praise and worship. "Hallowed" is a word that I will use much more often now. To hallow (as a verb), the way I see it, is to "make holy". And that is what we should do - make our Lord holy all the time.

May our God bless you, and may your words reach many, and lead them back to the Father, through Jesus Christ, with the help of the Holy Spirit.

Thank you very much for the re-steem. ;)

ἁγιασθήτω (hagiásthito)-> vocative case - ancient greek, ἁγιάζω (hagiázō) -> verb , From ἅγιος (hagios) (Radical: saint) , begin ἁγ (hag) -> I honor.
http://www.lexigram.gr/lex/arch/%E1%BC%81%CE%B3%CE%B9%CE%B1%CF%83%CE%B8%E1%BD%B5%CF%84%CF%89#Hist1

Thank you for sharing this alternate parsing. ;D

Thank you for this. I have just read a book by Benny Hinn, called "Good Morning, Holy Spirit". He also discusses a "template" for prayer, based on how Jesus taught his disciples to pray. I believe that the Word of God is the truth. I was a Christian all my life, but I am fairly newly reborn in the Spirit. It is just wonderful how words in the Bible now suddenly almost pop out from the pages, as I am more and more led by the Holy Spirit.

I recently heard a sermon by our pastor, specifically talking about praise and worship. "Hallowed" is a word that I will use much more often now. To hallow (as a verb), the way I see it, is to "make holy". And that is what we should do - make our Lord holy all the time.

May our God bless you, and may your words reach many, and lead them back to the Father, through Jesus Christ, with the help of the Holy Spirit.

Yes, we need to "set the LORD apart" in our thinking, set him on a pedestal, give him the place of honor in our minds that he so infinitely deserves. Thanks for sharing your insights today.

This is such a powerful prayer, not to mention bold and even revolutionary. I imagine His disciples staring at him with wide eyes and gaping mouths after hearing this as His answer to their question about how to pray. I'm sure it was like nothing they'd ever heard or been taught before. So to this day, we praise His Holy Name and we boldly call for the Kingdom of Heaven to come and be done right here on earth. Thanks for a great post creatr!

"Thy kingdom come, indeed."

That would make my day. That would make my eternity.

Thanks for your visit and comments.

Respect has sadly fallen by the wayside over the last 100 years. It started with disrespect in our creator. it continues today with disrespect in others. This did not happen over night. Satan knew what he was doing. Yes Hallowed has become obsolete sadly. We do not as a society hold anything sacred least of all God. That is so wrong because the same God who gives us breath to live can take that away in a heartbeat. The same God who allows us to think and be can terminate that so quickly. And as much as we disrespect him as a people...I would not blame him. However he loves us and shows patience. He gives us a lifetime of patience to get it right and show respect if we choose to. It is a choice...ours. But it is His choice to give us eternal life an what conditions to do so. Well we come to him empty and without but we need to show humility and respect to receive that gift that he so wants to give to us. I appreciate your continued testimony. i am still without much internet and out of town but saw your post and had to respond. Thanks for telling the world of Jesus. - Troy

Hi Troy,

I hope your travels are going well.

Thanks for taking time to read and comment on my blog. Please pray that those who read this and those I talk to will have their eyes opened to who Jesus really is.

Take care!

i definitely will. Will be home later today. Jesus is the ONLY way. I have learned that folks reach him though the heart in a simple child like faith rather than intellectual. Kind wishes my friend.

God begins the process of creation by naming things into existence. There is such power in a name - it contains the very essence of the person or thing described. Of course, we can't name God in such a way as to truly denote all his power and majesty, but we can respectfully whisper his name.

Yaweh, Father, or Jesus are more than titles. But only believers have real insight into the power of those names, and that's why we treat them so reverently. I believe in Jesus and exalt his holy name, because God has given no other name under heaven by which we must be saved.

Truth.

Names are such a fertile field for thought. Our LORD has many. When I get to my eventual series on understanding the book of Revelation, I will probably have posts about that... ;)

Thanks, John, for your very thoughtful comments. Yes, Jesus is the Name Above All... :D

Excente!

Te invito a visitar mis artículos!
UN CAMBIO DE CORAZÓN

https://steemit.com/@cyclope