Why I Am A Christian

in #christianity7 years ago (edited)

The great Roman Philosopher Plutarch cited an example that helped me understand why I am a Christian. Plutarch relates a story that Alexinus the Sophist was abusing the stoic philosopher Stilpon in the Promenade when one in the audience said, "But he was praising you the other day". "Exactly" said Alexinus, "He (Stilpon) is the most honest and outspoken of men". Here we see that the knave or rogue, Alexinus the Sophist, changed his attitude within a moment or two and contradicted himself without knowing that he was being inconsistent. This is the fundamental problem of paganism--double mindedness or self contradiction. I don't want to be there--frankly it's a fate worse than death in my view: Saying one thing and then its opposite within a span of a few moments--utter confusion. No accountability, no values, no virtue=knavery. Aristotle said that without progress in virtue, through religion or other means which are more difficult, a man will be a knave or rogue. Such is the confused state of pagan man today which makes me concerned about the future of the world.