It Is Well With My Soul: Daily Encouragement

in #christianity7 years ago (edited)

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul.

These words belong to one of the most well renowned hyms ever penned. Every Sunday these words are sung in congregations across the world. These beautiful words were written by Horatio Spafford under some of the most emotionally disturbing circumstances you could imagine.

Horatio Spafford

image

A lawyer and devout Christian from Chicago, Spafford had planned a family vacation to Great Brittain. Due to unforeseen circumstances, Spafford had sent his wife and four daughters on a ship ahead of him. While planning to leave to reunite with his family, he received a telegram from his wife saying "survived alone". The ship carrying his family had been struck by another vessel and sank. Only his wife had survived. Spafford penned the lyrics to "It is Well With my Soul" while sailing over the wreckage where his daughters had perished. As distraught as he must have been to lose his daughters, his testimony will forever be an example to generations of Christians who hear these powerful words. Let our prayer be that in times of terrible tragedy may we all be able to say "It is well with my soul".

Psalm 46:1-3 NASB
God is our refuge and strength,A very present help in trouble.
2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change
And though the mountains slip into the heart of the [d]sea;
3 Though its waters roar and foam, Though the mountains quake at its swelling pride. Selah.

Press On!

-Jonathan

Sort:  

I sung this tonight. So good.

Yes it is definitely one of my favorites.