You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curmudgeon's Bible - What Are The "Governing Authorities" of Romans 13:1?

in #christianity7 years ago

I think it is important to read much of the scriptures with open yet suspicious eyes. I think those of us blessed with the ability to analyze and reason should do so. At some point, after we've collected enough information and opinions, I think we come to an understanding of what God wants from us. I think he has empowered us with the gift to do that. I think we sometimes have great difficulty accepting what we know in our heart to be true.

I think I say "I think" too much, but I do not think I think too much.

Sort:  

Hello, @moeknows,

Thank you for your thoughtful and insightful comment.

"Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth."
- 2 Timothy 2:15

Understanding and acting on the scriptures is a life-long discipline and challenge.

"...we sometimes have great difficulty accepting what we know in our heart to be true."

This is why we need to interact with others who also respect the scriptures. We also need to allow the scriptures to change our outlook on life.

"Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect."
- Romans 12:2