Meeting someone today changed my day.

in #christianity7 years ago

I met an incredible human, today.

Crossing paths really made my week, he is a homeless man, im guessing in his late sixties who was diagnosed with cancer in 2008. He only started treatment this year, but due to lack of funds he has stopped his chemo treatment.

I dont think I have never met someone so brave, full of faith and wisdom.

We were at a mutual church, at a meeting and we got chatting where he shared a bit of his life story. I had shared twenty minutes earlier my difficulties the past two weeks, but after chatting to him I realized how minuscule my issues really were. It is easy to get tied up in life, negative thoughts and self pity.. I believe I met him today, so I could get the wake up call I needed. Be grateful, for my health (that should never be taken for granted), for a roof over my head and for my supportive family and friends.

He has been living on the streets for a while now, after travelling for a brief stint and leaving his house to someone he trusted, he came back and was left homeless, his home was destroyed as this person is an addict. He said to me, he often sees that person, still greets them because "its in the past..." I can really learn his way of forgiveness. He is so right, the past is the past, it cant be changed...

We chatted for a while, mostly about recovery and about God, and he reminded me that I am never alone. I said to him, I hope to see you next week at the same church, he said he doesnt usually come every week as he is always moving, due to having no place to call home...he came off chance as he was nearby soaking up some sun under the trees and decided last minute to join the meeting. I am so glad he did.

It was a pleasure to meet him today, I am filled with love today, thanks to a beautiful stranger.
Lying in bed, reflecting on this Sunday and giving my gratitude, made me think... there are some really special souls in this world. I can go to bed with a happy heart.

Thanks for reading,
P

Sort:  

i wish to have the ability one day to help homeless people i see everyday.

I wish I could of, he helped me in a huge way today. Super grateful.

i give them food or snacks im carrying when i walk pass them. sometimes some change

one day when i was around 16 , i dropped a brand new radio which i just purchased into the lap of a homeless man i walked past

He is a living testimony to us all. Thank you for sharing. This man has started my day too thru you. My dad was diagnosed with stage 3 cancer just last month. We were so scared, but this man has changed things and proved us something. We are not alone. God is with us all the way. God bless him and you. I'd pray for his safety.

Bless you, thanks for sharing and your kind words.

Congratulations @piajessica! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!