The Power of the Tongue

in #christianity7 years ago

Screenshot_20170928-224418.jpg

People do not seem to understand the power of their words.
We've all heard phrases like :

My back is killing me **
and hearing people say....
** A couple of years ago when I had my stroke

But we don't seem to understand the power of our words.
Death and life are in the power of the tongue, And those who love it will eat its fruit.
Proverbs 18:21 NKJV

In essence what this passage of scripture is saying is that you'll have what you say. Whether it be for good or bad.
We see this principle throughout the world and many people's lives. Often times you'll hear the rags to riches stories and one common theme you'll hear is that the indivdual said "I will NOT be broke for the rest of my life" or something along those lines. This principle holds true for everyone who has a tonuge.

I won't sit here and say that I haven't said things like "my headache is killing me" but one day someone asked me "why do you take ownership of the headache as if you bought it ?"
I had asked myself the same question to which I replied "I don't know."

Now think about the second part of that statement killing me.

One may ask, you mean to tell me that a headache can kill you ?
Now, I haven't heard of anyone dying of a headache but I do know that speaking like that can cause it to linger and make it feel as though you want to die.

The bottom line is beware when you take ownership of sickness,disease, and curses as if they're yours.

Screenshot_20170928-230446.jpg

Contrary to the negatives words spoken we can learn to be mindful of what we say, by replacing negative phrases with positive phrases.

i.e. "This headache is going to leave me"
Notice how no ownership is taken over the headache. Also, the words "leave me" imply that you desire the headache to leave you.

That being said speak life rather than death because you'll have what you say.

Regards,

Sort:  

Congratulations @tristan1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!