Christmas time and volunteering

in #christmas7 years ago

I have a tradition of volunteering at our local food bank. It started with my mom & I, and has varied thru the years, sometimes my kids come with me and other times not. My husband and I now volunteer our time together and help out our community local food bank. It is not always easy to get in the holiday spirit, with all the stress and extra work this time of year. Of course putting up the tree helps get me in the mood, and Christmas music too. I really start feeling that special time of year has arrived when I am volunteering helping out others. Seeing the happy faces - knowing a family in need is going to be able to give gifts to their children. To put smiles on faces that may not always have that warm and fuzzy happy feeling in their heart. We normally can't afford to give money, but I feel that giving of my time is even more precious and always needed, especially this time of year. Most communities do some sort of reach out for the needy families in the area. Ours does a Christmas program, people from all over donate - toys, blankets, books, etc. This is for the ages of infants all the way up to teenager. The teenagers get gift cards, since it is a hard and expensive age to buy for. Over the last 25+ years of volunteering I have noticed a couple trends.

Help is always needed and always appreciated. Not everyone is good with the public. Not everyone is as appreciative as they should be. Most people just need to see that someone cares about them. The older kids and the babies get the fewest of all the age groups - everyone likes to donate the fun toys for age groups 2-4 years, and 5-8 years. It takes a lot of time to prep for a two day distribution to families in the area. Every year more needy kids are added to the list, this year over 900 kids are being covered for just our little community food bank.

So to some it up, I love this time of year, but not for the gifts - it is truly for the giving. For making others feel special, for giving of your time, your talents, yourself. If all you have is an hour - or just a smile give it, it might be the best gift someone has had all year long.
P.S. This is my daughter and I a couple years ago after decorating the tree.

Sort:  

I agree with you, It might not always be possible to help someone in need but yes we can contribute our time and money at such moments to make someone feel special 👍 and in return you get an immense feeling that you did something unconditional for someone, and that's what is true love.