You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Brief Cigar Review - Cuban Montecristo Petit Edmundo

in #cigars8 years ago

I'm not a cigar smoker myself, but I think these posts are very well presented.

I'm curious to know - have you ever heard of or tried cigars from Don Benigno in Costa Rica? A friend of mine always raved about the thin-gauge Puritos. If I'm not mistaken, they don't make a lot of them, so they weren't easy to get a hold of - but this was several years ago. I'm not sure how much they're producing now.

Sort:  

Hi David!
Love this comment... because you mentioned a cigar maker I have honestly never heard of..., which is rare, (I hope that does not sound arrogant, but it is uncommon that the dynamic online cigar community doesn't mention an existing, even if a small batch cigar maker, that I have not heard of)
I of course googled it. I do not think I have ever smoked any Costa Rican tobacco. Costa-Rica is more south for the usual growing of cigar tobacco. I wonder if it provides a unique flavor profile that is new to me. Thank you @ats-david! I just ordered a sampler,
I can't wait to review a stick totally new!

Well, I'm glad I was helpful. I don't think they actually grow the tobacco in Costa Rica, though. I think the tobacco is Cuban (and I believe they use leaves from another country as well, but can't remember the specifics). The family is actually from Cuba and they were involved in cigar-making before they left for CR.

I look forward to the review! I'm curious to know if my friend really knew anything about cigars or not. He sure did smoke them a lot. I joined him occasionally, but it all just tasted like smoke to me. Some smoke was sweet, I suppose, and some was a little musty - but I couldn't tell much more than that.

I think you are right about the tobacco, it must be imported from other growers. Although not from Cuba, they wouldn't be allowed to sell in the US if that was the case.
I'm sure your friend knew what he was talking about, Don Benigno cigars seem to be very popular in the UK and South America.

What you say about the cigars you smoked with him is normal for beginner smokers. Either they are good, or they are not. Why they taste good to you is hard to figure out at the beginning, until you gain experience and smoke a lot of different kinds. Then you start to enjoy and discern certain aspects about a cigar, and pick up subtle nuances that make up the blend. All that is just icing on the cake, the cake is a great cigar. Unless its stale moldy cake ;-P

Oh and thank you for the compliment. I am so green at writing, and was very intimidated at first, but I am very passionate about cigars, so I will continue to refine and improve my writing.