I Need This

These last few weeks I’ve talked about being introspective and showing yourself kindness when it comes to setting your goals. I’ll be really honest, the main reason I’ve talked about that so much is because I need that reminder more than anyone.

Modern parenthood (heck, modern living in general) is not for the faint of heart. It can be so easy to feel like we’re failing all the time. Circumstances clash together that make us feel like we’re not enough professionally or personally.


I have goals I’ve set for myself this year and, thanks to the BossedUp Courage Community and Life-Tracker accountability group, I started the year feeling super committed to weekly check-ins and crushing my goals.

Then the start of the Spring 2020 semester, some seriously draining interactions at work, and Influenza A converged and threw me off my game.

I knew that getting started writing again would help me get out of the rut, check-in or not, so I’ve been staying committed to doing that. But I’d be lying if I said that I felt like I’m doing a halfway decent job with most of the things I’m responsible for.

And that’s really where introspection comes in. Nobody knows your life circumstances like you do. The ability to look at your life and realize that what you are doing is enough, that you are enough, based on what’s going on is so important.


Check-in with the folks that know and love you. If you need a boost, explain why you feel inadequate so that they can show you all the areas where you are crushing it.

Remember, the only person you should be measuring yourself against is you.




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://rachelahanson.blog/2020/01/30/i-need-this/