Missing The Circus

in #circus3 years ago

DSC04080.JPG

As a child, I always loved going to the circus. I loved them all, but especially the Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Circus. I loved everything about the event. I loved the animals, the acrobats, the freaks (which I absolutely don't mean in a derogatory way) and the clowns. I always appreciated a good freak show. In my later years, I was lucky enough to interview members of a touring freak show, whom I found to be outstanding people as well as performers. It might be my mention of the animals that might get me in trouble with some readers, but you can't take away a great childhood memory.

I was able to share the experience of the Big Top with two of my nephews when they were younger. Between the show and the cotton candy, I could tell they were having a great time. It was on one of these trips via New Jersey Transit to Madison Square Garden that I was able to see David Larible on what was his farewell tour for Ringling Bros. Pictured is my ticket stub and a commemorative doll that I purchased to cherish the event.

David Larible was a seventh-generation circus attraction from Italy. A short biography on the box explained that being a clown was a dream of his since the age of 8. A multi-talented individual, Larible trained in acrobatics, juggling, trapeze work, riding, music, various languages, literature and ballet. He has appeared with 8 circuses throughout a 33 year career. He was the first clown to ever headline The Greatest Show On Earth. Larible has won the International Circus Festival's Silver Clown Award and Junior Jury's Award, as well as the Golden Clown Award.

Unfortunately, this isn't an experience that I will be able to share with my grandchildren. I would be able to build up my record collection again before a trip to the circus will be possible. I will only be able to share my memories, which they may or may not believe! I just want to say thank you to all of the circus performers who put smiles on the faces of children and the young at heart!

Sort:  

While the bigger circuses have folded, there are a number of smaller ones still around. I don't think they will ever go away completely though the days of using animals may be numbered.