A City Trip to Jerusalem - Fascinating Yet More Complex Reality

I have rarely visited a city more complex and fascinating than Jerusalem, or the "city with 70 names". It is August 2010, and I am in town for four days to roam around the old districts and soak up the atmosphere. Before, I stayed in Tel Aviv, a city so modern, liberal, trendy and dynamic you would not say it is located so close to Jerusalem. Tel Aviv and Jerusalem are like day and night difference, also in terms of location and surroundings - the ocean and beaches at Tel Aviv versus the nearby mountains in Jerusalem. Let me take you into Jerusalem and show you why you should visit this city some day.

All photography in this article is original and mine

Follow @martinphoto for more!

If you like this article, please RESTEEM & COMMENT. I may award you with an upvote if the comment is interesting :-)

46155_425276353514_7368149_n.jpg
Beautiful structure of the Dome of Rock

40450_425276073514_6855047_n.jpg
Open the doors to look inside, for you!

Jerusalem, a city so rich with history it hurts your eyes!

Extremely diverse. Overflowing with history. This historic city is a world on its own, with such great religious diversity. It is home to Arabs and Jews, Israelis and Palestinians, monks and rabbis, but also everything in between. Religion is important here and you will notice it everywhere (in contrast to Tel Aviv). The town is holy to Muslims, Jews and Christians, which makes it unique.

40270_425276118514_4573632_n.jpg

40270_425276123514_7874871_n.jpg

40661_425276148514_20321_n.jpg

40661_425276153514_7692555_n.jpg

40429_425276198514_1065313_n.jpg

The Holy Structures of the Three Monotheistic Faiths

Go and visit the Temple Mount complex, which has both the Dome of the Rock and the golden beautiful Al-Aqsa Mosque, holy to Islam, and the Western Wall, holy to Judaism on a very small area of land (barely a square km). It is like looking at the world but in a very small and dense area, some sort of microcosm of different religions. Most tourists are able to visit all sides, so it gives an intricate view of all three religions.

Is Jerusalem safe?!

Travel to Israel, and in fact Jerusalem, is safe at most times. I would however avoid public bus lines in Jerusalem, and the light rail network, as there have been a number of violent incidents in public transport (and near public transport) in Jerusalem. Be careful whenever you move around. Jerusalem is a very old city that can get very crowded, and there are certainly some terror threats in some parts of the city. Minimize safety risks by avoiding large crowds, and especially during demonstrations or religious prayers (which at times spark new fights). For the rest, go ahead and visit this amazing city. You won't regret it.

40682_425276223514_1693625_n.jpg

45052_425276313514_6897055_n.jpg

40348_425276368514_8008281_n.jpg

44996_425276393514_1356212_n.jpg

44415_425276438514_8067599_n.jpg

45216_425276488514_8205830_n.jpg

45389_425276543514_691374_n.jpg

Follow @martinphoto for more!

Please RESTEEM if you like this article.

Sort:  

so beautiful ..

Wow you visited Jerusalem in 2010 and you are recounting your experiences so well, it must of had a lasting impression on you! My favorite pictures are the golden dome and the beautiful design of the outside structure of the temples...is that right? I think the biggest deterrent for me to ever visit Jerusalem is the safety. But as you mention it, Jerusalem can be very safe. Avoid bus lines and rail, I completely agree; everytime I have seen something on CNN it has been from an incident related to that. Yes, stay away from big crowds and you should be fine! It'd be cool for you to post another travel post! Or the food you ate. I'm following you now. Cheers! :)

i wish to go there one day

Wow very beautifull masjid of muslim
Its looking beautifull and heart toching

It really is amazing how two such completely different but amazing cities (Tel Aviv & Jerusalem) are so close together. They are like in different galaxies but soon will be connected by a 26min fast train ride - like a train ride through a worm-hole from Peter F Hamilton's Commonwealth Saga!

So much history in one post! Great work. Best wishes from Germany

It is one of the oldest and most important cities in the world. For Christians, Jerusalem is the scene of the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Brother, your post is very good, so I gave upvote to you. Hope you always get such a good post from you.
thank you

Wow this is awesome I've read alot about Jerusalem it's indeed a great city.. Old but gold.

How much history is there in every corner, I have not had the joy of visiting Israel but I imagine that there must be a very energetic atmosphere with a combination of peace, I hope someday to be able to visit it, regards

Nice pictures, hope to visit there someday.

Yo sueño con ver algun dia esa mezquita derrumbada y el tercer templo de los judios reconstruido y nuestros sacrificios animales y nuestras pascuas, y los levitas cantando y nosotros rezando comiendo y bailando, alegrandonos todos los hijos de Israel. Ese lugar es muy sagrado, es tan sagrado que no viste ningun judio pisando el suelo al rededor de esa mezquita, ahi esta prohibido subir y menos con zapatos, sino descalzo, es un lugar muy sagrado.

Jerusalem is definitely on my bucket list as far as places I’d like to visit. I love the way old architecture looks.

The worst thing about Israel is all the binary option scams that took place there. Beautiful country though

I see your photographs and I only think about when I can go to that place, everything is so magical, it's on my list to visit

Nice travel! Thanks for giving an explanation on the safety because that’s what would hold me back from going there. But overall that’s awesome you got to travel there. Definitely a place everyone should travel including myself before we leave this 🌏. 👍 @martinphoto

Must say your pictures are great. Photography is an art. Every one cannot do it without having creativity. I think you are outstanding Photographer.

Good post! that City Trip to Jerusalem

That was so beautiful. Thank you for that journey @martinphoto. It's nothing as I thought it would be. Mindshake..

Great art of you!
It is so amazing and informative!
It make me feel like reading more and more~

Followed you!

Looks like you had an amazing trip. I too wish to travel there one day! Safety would be a concern, but you answered it well. Thank you.

What made you go there to visit? Did you go with a group or by yourself?
These are very nice pictures! My husband and I plan on visiting there when our kids are a little older. We'll keep your safety tips in mind too ;-)

Nice photos :)

Congratulations @martinphoto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Beautiful oriental ornaments!
The architecture is wonderful!

Wish I could be there to shoot.
I recently found you while browsing through the trending page .I must say you are a prodigy.Your camera work is soo soo impressive the framing held sway over me.
I am also a photographer from India.
And I would love to get my work reviewed by you.
Would you mind checking them out if time allows??
Below are some of my worksIMG_20170227_115546-02.jpeg
IMG_20170227_115534-02.jpeg

Hey there, I have a client who is looking for some influencer marketing on Steemit in the photography niche. Is that something you'd be interested in doing? If so msg me on Discord and I'll introduce you: yallapapi#1970

yes you are right Jerusalem has a great history and city to watch. all illustrations are much gorgeous and ravishing

hi @martinphoto, great that you've decided to go. I was there in February this year and really felt amazed by the historical town as we walked past the worn cobblestone. I must admit the presence of guards may put you off at first, but then you blend in and treat them as a natural component that actually grants more safety there.
peace!

i wish to go there one day