Grandpa's 1965 Mustang Coupe Beginning of the Restoration

in #classic6 years ago

I just bought my grandpas car in hopes of a light restoration. As i started digging i have found out it will be a full restoration. I hope to take pictures and possibly videos along the way hoping to help other people to take on projects they love. I am sure mistakes will be made and my goal is to have the car back up and fully primed by July 4th 2019.
31250471_10211177061365716_4390954704054517760_n.jpg34322697_10216153375724422_3449402807965188096_o.jpg

Sort:  

howdy this fine Saturday jdsixtyfivecoupe! hey this looks like a really fun project, what is wrong with the car because the body looks amazing!

Well the car looks great from a little bit away. It was painted by my Grandpa is his garage over 25 years ago.. The car was involved in a passenger side collision before he got it. I am sure what happened but it must not have got sealed up just right, also the front sub frame is just a bit off, and i tend to be a perfectionist when it comes to my projects.. The car is an amazing starting point but i plan to go all the way. Hopefully including a new 5.0 Coyote swap.

wow sir..so you rebuild cars as a hobby? you lost me on the last sentence with the Coyote swap, what's that?

The Coyote motor is what they put in the new mustangs i believe 2011- to present. Aluminum blocks great horse power outstanding 6 speed transmissions. 440 hp and still get 25 mpg.

A coyote swap would be sick but personally, I would put in an automatic with a nice stall.

I thought about that but i just ordered 8700$ of "Toltal Control Products" Suspension, chassis and, 3 link kits with 4 wheel 12" 4 piston caliper Wilwood power brake system, along with the borgeson power steering kit. I am too deep to back out now. I am super excited to take pictures and share this process. My ultimate goal is to have a touring 1965 Mustang that handles like a Corvette.

oh I get it. very good sir and thanks for that fleshout! good luck on this project, you will be doing posts on it?

My goal is to do at least 3 posts a week. Some will be about big accomplishments, The general method i used, and I am sure i will have a problem i run into i will post questions for people.

howdy back again jdisixtyfivecoupe! yes sir that sounds like a great strategy... and are you connected with a lot of the mechanic or car people on here?

I’ve fantasized about a similar project from time to time.

Welcome to Steemit. :)

Hope you find one. Thanks for the welcome.

That's a cool old car! Welcome to Steem.

Beautiful car :D
Can't wait to see the restored version!

Pretty good looking body. I'm assuming these pics are from long ago?

The one in the fair is about a year ago and the one on the trailer is from about 2 months ago.

old is gold collection in car.
@aryaan