The white march - part 2 (final part)

in #cliffhanger6 years ago

Hello everyone,

Last week I posted the first part of a short story for a contest ran by @lymmerik. The first part had to end in a cliffhanger, and in the second part the cliffhanger had to be resolved. Both parts were limited to 301 words each. This is the second and final part of the story, and I must say I'm pretty pleased with the overall result.
Big thanks to @negativer for helping me edit this second part.


DQmVFChN3VztGZNRtpAtLqG9MJvhQkmar17zVSdwyukdKrN.jpg

“Lisa, so that’s her name....” I cover her under my dress where the cries fall silent. The eyes of the man in front of me are scanning the room, the barrel of his gun searching for targets to aim at. Shots get fired. A painting behind us falls down and leaves behind a gaping hole. Myrthe and Laïs calmly walk towards the man, put their hands on his shoulders and offer some words I can’t hear. They always do this, and I always grant their little moment together, although we both know we can’t connect with living creatures.

The man falls to his knees. Tears fall down his cheeks, and three more bullets leave his gun, only resulting in more debris on his beautiful wooden floor. Myrthe and Laïs already retreated back to the front door, and I’m still in front of the broken man, with Lisa pressed against my chest.

“I’m so sorry, but it had to be done. It’s better this way.” I follow Myrthe and Laïs through the front door and nod at the statue of Maria as I leave. Maria gives me a smile back.

A short walk later we arrive at the open place in the woods where the full moon is placed seemingly perpendicular to the ground. I take Lisa from under my dress and gently put her on a platform of wood and moss. The three of us form a circle around her tiny body and we start dancing. Laïs and Myrthe smile like they’re the source of the moonlight themselves, and I scream from enjoyment. I feel alive. Lisa starts glowing and we watch her transform. After a minute the dance is over. Her tiny body is twitching while her eyes open to a new future.

She looks stunning in her white dress.


That's it! I hope you enjoyed the story.

Thanks for reading,
See you next time!

Image source

Sort:  

Well done! I want more, but this is a great standalone piece as well!

Thank you Neg! That really means a lot :)

@tuwore,
Thanks for the entry. Good wrap up.
@Lymmerik