You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When enough is enough: Future climate disaster looming

in #climate6 years ago

I agree with the vast majority of your article, however I have strong reservations on if anything can be done in time. I appreciate this is quite a negative view, but I feel that humanity as a whole is great at putting it's head in the sand and denying the clear reality of the situation.

Even when the sea levels rise to cover much of the coastal regions and islands are beneath the waves, many will still be able to justify it to themselves. We have a gift at self deception and not taking the blame for our mistakes.

Many governments are to blame, for not making the hard choices and for better educating the people they are elected (well the ones that are) to protect.

I really hope I'm wrong, otherwise the following generation will have to pay for all our mistakes and make sacrifices that we probably can't even imagine.

Sort:  

This is the moral question of our age. Failure to engage with climate change even if we can’t reverse it is a failure in moral thought in my view. I suppose it highlights a limitation in our species that deserves to be selected out by killing off most people and their descendants alive today. It is also possible that we will wipe ourselves and most live on earth out. Somehow I cannot align myself with inaction on this as I have no right to screw up life for the next few generations. Our children’s children will ask why we didn’t even try. There’ll be some of us who did. And I was one of them. I pity those who cannot give an account of themselves to future generations. The dawning realisation will come too late that our generation was the one that broke the earth when we could still just about have saved it. It’s not about reversing it but throwing everything we have got at it to make the impacts less dangerous to life.

We need to at least do something. Otherwise is will get worse even quicker. Greed will kill us all

I did type a long wordy response, but then realised I'm maybe not in the most positive of mindsets today. So should take advice I always give otherwise, and sleep on it.

My response was about to be all doom and gloom as you probably guests heh :)