The Circle of Blog #mydatabelongsto.me

in #cloudflare9 months ago

Anyone who reads my material knows I am a walking variety magazine. I just love the force of creation, which is how I can pivot Math.random(360) degrees, several times a day. If you don't know JavaScript, that's just a number between 0 and 360.

It began with a domain name

As so many things do for me, I will wake up with an idea. It will churn around in my mind and sometimes there isn't enough time to write everything down, but by the end of that day, I don't want to forget the energy of the idea, so I will go bookmark it with a domain name. Yesterday, I bought mydatabelongsto.me. Pretty easy to know what I am thinking about, right?

I like data privacy

I'm not alone... DuckDuckGo likes privacy, Proton apps like Privacy, I found out my hosting provider (HawkHost) likes privacy when I bought a little VPS and saw their DNS was rigged to CloudFlare's 1.1.1.1 / 1.0.0.1 DNS service. CloudFlare likes privacy. The list goes on and on. Entities committed to privacy - you know, software that want customers to be the sole custodians of their data.

People string their lives along the conveniences of Google, Apple, Microsoft, Facebook (which has been proven bad for people's health, and yet I still have an account....). I do business with all these cats and it has finally gotten to me. Just like I cut the cable for television, I want to "cut the Google." I want to invite privacy back into my life, own my data, and be the majority shareholder deciding who gets what.

Let the privacy diatribe begin

I have several ventures afoot at any given time, but I am going to all the things because I'm a creator and there's all kinds of people who either have a kindred agenda, want to support an agenda, have their own idea and we just like link sharing, whatever. I am going to just make some time to share what I am up to with this data privacy stuff, along with tidbits about my other adventures in the hopes people see a path that they, too, can follow to regain control of their data.

Image Credits

I trolled the internet for memes and comics - I have no idea who owns this image. If it is you, let me know and we'll get it attributed properly (or decide if I need to take down the image). Thanks!

picutre of a funky electric guitar with strange pickups and the phrase "I tinker... ...therefore I am " overlayed on the image
Sort:  

Congratulations @t3kme! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 60 posts.
Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors

Congratulations @t3kme! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors