What phenomenon is this?

in #clouds7 years ago (edited)

This happens quite frequently nowadays and I don't quite understand the reason behind this. Why is there an outline of scattered light around this #cloud?

image

image

I want to add that this only occurs during sunset.

Sort:  

Hi, I think it is the phenomenon called "Noctilucent cloud".
They can be seen during twilights and they are the highest clouds in the earth's atmosphere, around 80 Km high. It is a recent discovery and they are still not very well understood.

But I am not 100% sure sorry, I am not a meteorologist, but I briefly studied them during my bachelor.

Cheers

Thanks mate! And if I may ask, what's your major?

major?

I meant, what did you do your bachelor's in?

Natural Science. Super broad but very interesting!

Yeah I'm sure I'll love it!

That looks amazing.. I've never seen something like that before

Yeah me neither!

Looks like a rainbow.. but on a totally different level