Teaching in China

in #cn6 years ago

I've had a lot of jobs growing up but I've never had a job I enjoyed as much as teaching! I came to China four years ago and I love my life over here. I teach English most of the time as it's in demand but I try to fit in some guitar classes if I can as music is a passion of mine.

12265589_10153309196398723_1901483876918074233_o.jpg

It's pretty funny being a teacher in China as it's really different to life in England. People are usually referred to as their job title so I usually get called 'Bobby teacher' even by people who aren't my students.

Most people complain that education is very boring in China as usually the class consist of the teacher talking whilst the students sit, listen and try and take notes even from an early age. So I try and make my classes as fun as possible using games and fun activities to teach.

IMG_20171022_163147.jpg

I teach all ages from kindergarten to adults but 80% of the kids are usually from grade 1 to grade 4 as parents want their kids to get a good head start and learn from a foreigner so they can do well in their school exams.

School exams are the most important thing for most Chinese people as the population in China is huge so there's a lot of competition to succeed. Most people agree that there is way to much pressure for children but I think people worry that if they don't keep up their child will fall behind.

13667824_10153812447663723_3721278648414394784_o.jpg

Every child that I've ever met over here does a mix of several after school classes. As soon as they've finished school they're off to English, Math, Chinese, Music, Dance or Art centers. Everyday after school and all through the weekends.

My boss was telling me that the school exams cover things that the schools don't teach, so if you don't find some after school centers somewhere in your city then the chances of you passing your school exams are pretty slim. Which doesn't really seem very fair for the poor kids. People are always talking about money over here and you start to understand why after awhile, it's not because people are greedy, it's just parents worrying about their children's futures, almost all training centers are expensive but a must for the public. Along with schools and training centers, you always need to have some money tucked away in case of a family member getting sick or something bad happening as a trip to the doctors can cost you a small fortune.

IMG_20160327_172952_4e35135bd028897272085d8df95855a0_thumb.jpg

When I first arrived in China I started working at school but quickly moved in to working in training centers as class sizes in school can be as many as 80 children per class! But training centers usually stick to around 10 kids in a class, which makes it much more personal and interactive where you can really help the children grow and see their improvements.

12278787_10153309191728723_8760533357592267996_n.jpg

Word can spread pretty fast in China as I found when I started teaching guitar independently. I started off by just teaching a few kids as I play guitar in my English lessons to teach some English songs, a few parents really wanted my to teach their kids guitar so I agreed to open one small class. After word got out that a foreigner was teaching guitar I started getting approached by schools asking me to teach guitar in their schools. I agreed to do one but their were 36 students per class so it was pretty difficult! Imagine 36 kids all sitting there with guitars tapping and strumming away.... it was hard to control :D

IMG_20161012_152837.jpg
Buying all the guitars for the kids...... from Taobao of course =]

If anybody is thinking about coming over to China to teach I would definitely recommend it! It's a bit of a culture shock at first but once you get used to it you will start to have an awesome time!

IMG_20170319_194953.jpg
13667763_10153812448838723_7901331265757228005_o.jpg
12274779_10153309203333723_1305249657529415645_n.jpg

Sort:  

you always have great content

Thank you very much =]

That pressure to excel may serve them well someday provided they can develop a love of learning and take it into adulthood with them, which by the way is something you are probably helping them do by providing a different more enjoyable learning environment for them.

You're friendly @asaper

Thank you for your kind comment =] I think the teaching style definitely helps them to get more interested in English :D

Congratulations @anthonycruddas, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 10

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Second each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with a follow and an upvote on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Wow thank you very much! That's awesome! :D

You are very welcome! Keep up the great work!

Ahh, I see you took a little break from posting on steemit a while, glad to see you're back! Always love the pics man, so cool you are teaching over there, it was something I was definitely considering before my baby came along ;) Maybe one day though

Thanks man! If you ever come over give me a shout! I hadn't posted for awhile because I was moving to a different province but I love steemit and will try to stay active :D