You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memoirs of Growing up in China - A Story About My Birth // 中国回忆录—关于我出生的故事

in #cn7 years ago

I have lived and worked in China and Hong Kong for 2 1/2 years now. The culture is definitely stronger in China but still prevalent in HK. I am very fascinated by Confucius thought and how it's impacted culture. As an over all influence do you like Confucius thought or do you agree more with more of the individual focus of the west?

Sort:  

The Confucius philosophy has the dominating influence to Chinese culture. I think Confucius thought has many positive influence on harmonious relationship within families and the society. Filial piety, for example is still highly emphasized in China. However, Confucius thought believes that men are superior to women (男尊女卑)which has been the philosophical source of women's lower status and repression in families and society as a whole. Since I was an English major as a young woman, I was more fascinated by the western philosophy of individualism. As someone who has lived in the States for 28 years, I see the strong point and weak point of both cultures. I am not in favor of rugged individualism nor social relations based on too much sacrifice of individuals.