CNC story - part 1

in #cnc7 years ago

Some time ago I have started building my very own CNC machine, I guess around 3 month ago.

The main reason for starting was that I had two NEMA 17 steppers laying around and had stumbled upon another (bit smaller) stepper at the flee market.

I quickly found a project that seemed very easy to implement (oh boy, now I know how bad I am at crafting! ): http://www.instructables.com/id/Homebuilt-DIY-CNC-Router-Arduino-Based-GRBL/

Did the shopping mainly at the local hardware store. They had no plywood that day but I still grabbed something that I thought it would work,... lately I convinced myself that was a very bad decision and had to start over with plywood.

I have recently finished the construction and have started the cabling to the Arduino board.
Next on the list is test every axis and then do a bit of calibration.

Here's my beauty, w/o steppers:
IMG_20171001_185125.jpg

Now w/ all three steppers mounted:
IMG_20171028_210723.jpg

I will continue to post about my progress if you are interested!

Sort:  

Meanwhile I have finished this, but since no one is interested I will not post more!