WHY I LOVE EATING COCONUT!!!

in #coconut7 years ago





Its time to share a little secret weapon of mine when it comes to health and beauty. I’m slightly obsessed with coconuts, and for more reasons than one. Seven to be exact, but I’m sure this list could be even longer. To me, being healthy in every part of your life if crucial to feeling and looking your best. Here are seven reasons why you should love coconuts as much as I do:

  1. Who needs sugar? When I first told a friend about eating coconuts like crazy one week, they looked at me a bit confused. “What do you mean, like a whole coconut?” Well, yes. I buy a whole coconut at my local grocery store about 2-3 times a week, put it in the fridge to get cold, then drop it on the pavement outside a few times, and boom, it cracks and splits in half! I then use a butter knife to scoop it out of its shell. You can obviously do it other ways in case you want to drink the water inside of it, but dropping it on the pavement is just fun!

  2. Removes make-up. Coconut oil is a staple in my pantry and vanity. I take a small amount of it and rub it all over my eyes. The oil works like magic and all my stubborn black make-up comes right off. Wipe with a cloth and rinse face!

  3. Get the good fat. Coconut oil contains short-term, medium-chain fatty acids… which means our body metabolizes this fat in our liver and turns it into energy! Don’t we all need a little more fuel for our body and mind?

  4. Skin saviour. A couple times a week I will switch up my usual face cream and slather coconut oil all over my face (you might remember my DIY Coconut Oil Facial Scrub). It might feel a bit greasy at first, but it give five minutes to completely soak into your skin and give you a natural, healthy glow. You also end up smelling like a delicious coconut; my boyfriend can’t get enough!

  5. A better butter. I love cooking with coconut oil and tend to use it mostly when I roast vegetables or make a stir-fry with quinoa. However, my favourite way to use coconut oil in the kitchen is when I make dessert as the perfect substitute for butter. When the recipe calls for 1/4 cup of butter, I usually just swap it for coconut oil. Or when it tells me to butter the pan, I butter it with coconut oil. It’s the perfect alternative and baked goods still come out just as moist!

  6. Break it down. Coconut oil is amazing for bloating and poor digestion. The fatty acids in coconut oil have a soothing affect on bacteria, which helps break down the foods in your tummy. Careful, don’t get carried away with eating too many coconuts!

  7. Don’t forget the hair. It’s just as amazing for your hair as it is for you skin. I have a really dry scalp, and usually at this time of year my head gets extremely itchy and irritated from the sun. I mix coconut oil with just a teaspoon of warm water and apply it to my scalp at night; I then wash and rinse my hair in the morning!

*Make sure to buy virgin coconut oil as it has not been refined, bleached or deodorized. Look for it in a glass jar instead of plastic.

Reference:
https://www.google.com.ng/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://notyourstandard.com/7-reasons-to-love-coconuts/&ved=0ahUKEwi9kPGp4sLVAhWRZVAKHUjVAw4QFgg7MAI&usg=AFQjCNFPHrvaXkgM_VGLtjEUW6tkqyCvTA

Sort:  

Thanks for the tips! I've done a lot of research into food ingredients and a friend of mine has started experimenting herself with natural oils for facial and beauty applications and I'm completely fascinated by the subject. I would love to look into this more. So your post was a great starting point for that :)

Amazing and nice post ,i like ;)

Thanks

Ok;)

upvote it for me

Congratulations @lexico12! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

STOP

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

Good info

Coconuts are an amazing food. ❤️

Yes. It's sweet using it to eat cassava flakes. This water can also be used to prepare rice (coconut rice)

Your head dey there joor

Hey @lexico12 , would love to offer you a slot on my podcast sometime.

It is about people doing remarkable things, whether entrepreneurs or not.
Where we talk about what you are doing, believe in and what difference you are making in the world.
It is part youtube channel where the mission is to help 1,000,000 entrepreneurs become remarkable, and the podcast acts as a way to share stories and connect with people.

Here is the playlist of the existing episodes: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5CpCNPna6p95oJfKPew0N3ZT0k-khdgg

It is audio only over skype. Would love you to come on the show and talk about yourself. Does this sound of interest to you?

Educating

Very good post. I love coconut and coconut oil as it has so many healthy properties - the coco oil has so many beneficial properties. It not only tastes great but it also has healing properties.

Thanks for sharing