Home Brew - Coffee Talk #1

in #coffee6 years ago

I came into my love of coffee later than most people. I was 42 and at home, recovering from a surgical procedure and the person taking care of me said she was going to make me some coffee, that it would make me feel better. I informed her I did not like coffee. To me, it was muddy, bitter, and nasty tasting. She said she would make me a cup of coffee I would love. I was not convinced. Luckily, I was wrong. Now admittedly she added enough cream and sugar that it was almost a dessert but it opened the door for me to (over time) develop an appreciation for the brown brew. Today I no longer douse my coffee with lots cream and sugar but I do use some stevia-based sweeter and would not want to start my morning without it.
coffee pic.jpg
I am not a coffee snob but I really prefer the coffee I make at home and I lean toward a medium roast. The dark roasts tend to be too bitter and sometimes almost taste burnt to me. I have experimented with many of the brands that are available in my local grocery store. I try to take advantage of sales so I can consistently enjoy the more premium brands. I think the biggest mistake people make when brewing their own coffee is they use too much ground coffee because they want a strong cup but what they end up with is just bitter. So, I suggest people follow the recommendation given on the coffee bag and then add more/less as your taste dictates. Just remember that more does not necessarily mean better.

Recently I have been enjoying Seattle’s Best Breakfast Blend coffee. It is a medium roast. My morning cup was smooth with a very mellow flavor. The bag said it had citrusy notes which were not dominant but were slightly present on the finish. I enjoyed it and will buy it again in the future.

Let me know what your favorite brands are so I can give them try.

Sort:  

A neat little write up. In truth if its black and got caffeine in it then I'll drink it. I don't have a machine myself but at work I get free coffee all day (well 25 pence and free refills) and the brand we use is Lavazza, they're Italy's biggest coffee producers and do make a decent cup of Joe.

You are selected free random upvote from @pakupvoter.bot
Follow @pakupvoter.bot to grow up And get free upvotes on your posts.

following!

This post has received a 1.8 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @altportal