The Story of a Coffee Cup

in #coffee2 years ago (edited)

This is my favourite coffee cup.

img_0.20450203988659432.jpg

It is old, battered, chipped, has a few hairline cracks (that don't leak) and no matter how much I wash it, it looks slightly stained from the hundreds of litres of coffee I have probably drank over the years.

It is kind of like a representation of me in mug form. Always full of coffee and battle scarred from years of use.

I don't want to replace it even though my wife threatens to make it disappear.

My mom gave me this mug probably 10 years ago. Unfortunately, it was discontinued. I would love to get a new one, but the manufacturer is not making them anymore. The mug is sculptured with a handle shaped like an antler. I guess it was supposed to be more of a collectable and not supposed to actually be used.

The artist is Terry Redlin. If you have not seen his work, he has just beautiful nature paintings and prints.

img_0.5835735928235883.jpg

I would love to acquire some of his works in the future when my kids eventually move out and I get my own office/music room. His site is still up if you want to read about him and view more of his actual work.

https://redlinart.com/about-terry