The French Press- The Key to The Perfect Cup of Coffee

in #coffee6 years ago

20180713_115205.jpg

For most of my adult life, I considered myself a coffee lover, but not an aficionado. While I loved my necessary daily coffee as a brewed fuel, I knew nothing about the nuances of preparation and all that went into making a cup outstanding. As I got older, my tastes and preferences began to clarify, and I could no longer stomach the drip coffee that had been my trusty friend for all these years. My day was only as good as the cup of coffee I had at its onset, and I knew that to continue my morning ritual, I would have to dive deep into the world of coffee and perfect my morning elixir.
I began experimenting with different roasts and brewing styles, and after much research and trial and error, I discovered the answer to my conundrum: the French press.

If you are not familiar with this simple yet amazing coffee maker, allow me to introduce you. A French press is a cylindrical beaker; typically glass, steel, or ceramic;outfitted with a tightly fitting lid and attached pivoting plunger. The French press is equipped with a fine mesh filter at the end of the plunger.

20180713_115303.jpg

A great alternative to expensive espresso machines and costly coffee shop habits, French presses can be purchased for as little as $6 (although some aesthetically fashioned ones can cost over $200).

A superior cup of coffee is found with the French press method as it allows for steeping, instead of filtering, releasing all the intended flavors and oils in to your coffee. The results are a robust, full flavored cup of coffee. The French press is easy to use and will deliver a consistently delicious cup of coffee, day in and day out.

To make yourself a fine cup of coffee using the French press you will need:

  • ⅓ cup coarse ground coffee (I am currently into this local blend of pecan coffee from New Mexico Pinon Coffee, which you can purchase here: https://nmpinoncoffee.com/products. If you are ever in town, I recommend grabbing one of the unique lattes available from either of their two Albuquerque locations.)
  • 3 ¼ cups filtered water
  • optional sugar and cream for preference

20180710_095230.jpg

Directions:

  1. Begin by placing the ground coffee in the bottom of your clean French press.
  2. In a kettle or pot, bring water to almost boil. French pressed coffee calls for water between 195℉ and 205℉. I utilize a glass kettle so I can turn off the water when I notice the bubbles and steam beginning to form, a full boil will result in water that is too hot and will burn your coffee. However, if your water does boil, just allow it to cool down for one minute after removing it from heat before proceeding.
  3. Pour the heated water directly over the ground coffee in the beaker of the French press
  4. Place the lid on top of the French press to maintain heat, but be sure that the plunger is not pushed down at this time. The mesh filter should still be at the top of the press.
  5. Set a timer for 4 minutes (or play a 4 minute song). After the 4 minutes have passed, plunge the filter down as far as it will go, compressing the grounds to the bottom of the French Press. If you like very strong coffee, allow the grounds to steep for 5 minutes instead of 4.
  6. Pour into your favorite mug and add cream or sugar if desired. This yields about two cups of coffee. The remaining coffee at the bottom of the press should be discarded, as it will continue to steep while mingling with the coffee below the filter, creating a bitter, over-steeped taste.
  7. Enjoy an excellent cup of coffee!

Crafting coffee with the French press may seem complicated, but it’s actually very simple and will revolutionize your morning cup. With practice, you can enjoy quality coffee on a daily basis.
Happy Brewing!

Sort:  

It makes my mouth watery. Pictures look good. I hope taste of Coffee is good as well.

Tea cup as remind to morning fresh

Yes I love a real good cup of coffee but one cup a day is enough for me.

and the clicks are really amazing

Harika görünüyor.

WARNING - The message you received from @sanjugangber is a CONFIRMED SCAM!
DO NOT FOLLOW any instruction and DO NOT CLICK on any link in the comment!

For more information about this scam, read this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@arcange/phishing-site-reported-steem-link-premium

If you find my work to protect you and the community valuable, please consider to upvote this warning or to vote for my witness.

I had a french press but never knew how to utilize it in a better way. I will definitely try to make a good cup of coffee.

thanks for the recipe bro, new type of coffee i must try it : )

Well, it looks really super. 🤗

Coffee is life! ☕

that seems like a good cup of coffee @pinkspectre , even for me who does not drink coffee often at all, great work!

amamizng post thanks for sharing the post

guys do follow me to get amazing and unbelieveable food facts and posts regarding health