Colada - A Cuban Espresso to be Shared

in #coffee7 years ago (edited)

Colada

In Pennsylvania, if you want a quality cup of coffee you have to go to some hipster hang out spot where the customers and staff all have beards and smoke American Spirits. I’m not opposed to hipsters, just not my crowd. I always had the feeling these coffee shops were more about saving endangered frogs than actual coffee.

Of course, commercialized brands are always there but I’m talking about local coffee shops. In the Sunshine State, especially the southern end, things are a bit different. A fascinating coffee can be found in the most unlikely places and have nothing to do with frogs. Hence how I stumbled upon colada-a Cuban espresso.

When I arrived in South Florida I couldn’t help but notice the incessant signs for Cuban coffee and colada plastered outside convenience stores and gas stations. I paid them no mind until months later a friend said we were going to stop at Chevron for coffee. I had so many questions. Why on earth would we go to a gas station for coffee when there was a Starbucks right down the street? Would a real friend suggest gas station coffee?

We pull in and walk up to a yellow awning covering a small walk-up window attached to the gas station. At this establishment, there is no “coffee-house music” playing or Edison-style light bulbs hanging from the ceiling.

My buddy orders two coladas. The total comes to $4.50. Pretty cheap coffee if you ask me. He hands me a styrofoam cup a bit bigger than a shot glass (about 4 ounces) and a stack of even smaller miniature cups. I pry open the lid and look down at the muddy black and brown substance. Bottoms up. Without thinking I down the entire coffee like it was tequila. My friend laughs while trying to not spit out his own beverage.

He proceeded to tell me that colada is extremely strong espresso and the mini-cups are given so you can share it with others. A shareable coffee was something I had never heard of. As one can imagine the feelings that came after were not so enjoyable. Consequently, my ignorance leads to sweating, what I believe were heart palpitations and of course the inability to trust my rear-end.

I have the utmost respect for colada not because of its potency but because of the communal aspects. This is a cup of coffee that is enjoyed among friends, family or coworkers. It’s a conversation drink. It’s a daytime​ work break drink. Quite the opposite of the philanthropic coffee houses I am accustomed to. Ever notice that most coffee drinkers have their own special order for the barista? Colada breaks that trend. This Cuban staple is about spending quality time and not personalization.

The flavor is quite pleasant. It is definitely espresso. There is no doubt about that yet the sugar really cuts through the bitterness. Be prepared though, consistency is more viscous than usual and makes your teeth feel like they will never be white again.

This is just one of many ways to recreate this iconic drink. Try it out and play with it. Just make sure you share. Leave a comment below letting us know how yours turned out!

Screen-Shot-2017-01-27-at-8.32.20-PM.jpg

The Recipe

Espresso Grind (Cafe Bustelo, Cafe Domino, Cafe Pilon)

Makes 1 cup
Serves 5

  1. Pack your espresso filter with coffee – tap in down if necessary.
  2. Add 2 tablespoons of sugar to a cup. Metal cups are the best for this.
  3. Locate the second cup and put it to the side.
  4. Place sugar cup under espresso machine and turn on. When the espresso begins to drip enough to saturate the sugar quickly pull this cup out and replace with the empty one. Be careful.
  5. While espresso is brewing, whip the sugar/espresso mixture until you have a golden viscous substance. Really mix it up.
  6. Wait for the espresso to complete brewing.
  7. Pour brewed espresso over top of sugar​ mix.
  8. Stir again and enjoy.

Copyright The Coffee Recipe | 2017 | Robb Myers