Red Book

in #coincollecting6 years ago (edited)


Photo by me.

If you're new to coin collecting, here is a great book for reference. I would venture a guess that most all coin collectors have a copy. It is published by Whitman, a longtime player in the collecting world. This book has become the go-to book for collectors. It is a great reference, listing all US coins ever minted. It includes the number of coins minted for each year and mint, making it easy to see which coins are rare. It also gives a brief description of each coin's history.

The Red Book gives an average price for each coin in different grades. This pricing can be a little inaccurate due to the book only being printed once each year, and prices can fluctuate over that time period. Also, the prices are more in line with what coin shops get for the coins rather than what they'll pay for them. Keep your eyes open at flea markets and auctions, because it's often possible to get them cheaper.

If you're new to the hobby or just want a resource tool that covers it all, I highly recommend this book.


Photo by me.

You can find these in almost any coin shop or Hobby Lobby (and other similar hobby stores). Well worth the investment.

Until next time - keep up the collecting.

 


Vote @noblewitness for witness


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.cooltrix.com/red-book/

Sort:  

I'm glad to see you sticking with these collecting posts. This type of content is evergreen, meaning it has permanent value that transcends payout. Plus, I think if you just stick with it, you'll find a nice audience of people who really appreciate this topic.

My posts may be of interest to you, since you're into U.S. Coinage...

I'll check them out. Thanks.