Colorchallenge Monday Red: Amanitas and Santa the Shaman

in #colorchallenge5 years ago

I just can't resist posting photos of these gorgeous Amanita muscarias as the winter solstice approaches.

DSC09611.JPG

I love the association with Santa, whom I like to think of as a Shaman of the northlands who learned from observing his reindeer the magical flying properties of the Amanita muscaria mushroom. I imagine he drinks his sacred tea then floats up and out the smokehole of his yurt to journey the cosmos with his reindeer guides on the longest dark night of the year.

DSC04881.JPG

All photos by me. First was taken at the Washington Park Arboretum Japanese Gardens in October 2016. The second was outside Woodland Park Zoo in October 2015.

Sort:  

Congratulations @belleamie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hmmm how'd I miss this one? :)

Wish I could find some around here... Maybe one day. A mushroom I'd definitely be down to try.

Try? As in for food or for a shamanic journey out your chimney? If eating, it needs to be processed carefully to remove hallucinogenic and other toxins.

Posted using Partiko Android

We'll, I don't have a chimney, but I can open a window...

As a kid I remember it being available retail at certain establishments that I used to frequent. Not sure if it's still legal, but it sure used to be.