Colour / Color Challenge - Green Thursday - Beautiful peacock, did you know?

in #colorchallenge6 years ago

"Have you taken a pause today, a moment to glance upon the beauty that surrounds you, the fluttering leaf on the tree, the melody of a song bird, the crystal blue sky that fills the sky? Within this moment magic is happening all around you, just pause and observe." Presley Love

Hello fellow Steemians,

For today's colour challenge, I'm sharing a photo of a beautiful peacock (taken by me). The photo was taken when I was enjoying a lazy Sunday Brunch at the Sofitel Hotel in Sentosa, Singapore. Peacocks are quite regular visitors here, unfortunately this one didn't put its tail up so I could see it's full grandeur.

peacock.jpg

As you may know, I'm currently in Bali and it was all for today - our good friend's 50th Wedding Anniversary. They've made it! I'm not sure if it will happen, however I am hopeful people of my generation will see such celebrations in their old age.

Interesting facts, did you know?

(All very fitting for the anniversary theme)

  • Green is the colour of growth, harmony and balance
  • The actual name for 'peacock' is Indian Peafowl
  • Males are called 'peacocks', females are not colourful and are called 'peahen', whereas their young are called 'peachicks'
  • A peacock's tail feathers can grow up to 6 feet long and make up 60% of its body length
  • Peacocks can fly in short bursts

The peacock symbolises grace, dignity and integrity - factors I believe are important for long lasting relationships. A fitting image for a special day.

Enjoy!