Color Challenge - Tuesday Orange Lake Superior Agate

Here is an amazing macro photo of a Lake Superior Agate from Michigan. This photo shows the phenomenon known as parallax.

IMG_0857.PNG

The sharp angles appear to have depth or height depending upon the optical view, but are actually perfectly flat. This specimen was found in host rock, removed, cut on a lapidary saw, polished on a flat lap, and finally photographed by the author. Each agate specimen is as unique as a snowflake.

Sort:  

This post received a 1.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @steemitadventure! For more information, click here!

This is so beautiful! Do you go rock hunting on a regular basis?

As often as possible! Everything I have posted so far is self collected. Thanks!

Good for you! I have no talent to find the right stones in nature but I can appreciate them once they are cut and shown to me :)

I spend more time prospecting than i do collecting. It definitely takes work.

Quite interesting pattern.

Mesmerizing! I love agates!

I have many more agates coming. Stay tuned. 😀

I can't wait!