Back to the Real World!

in #comeback7 years ago

Hey everyone,

As some of you might have noticed I have not been posting on Steemit for a while now and also as you might have read on my latest post I decided to stop smoking cigarettes a while back. So the reason for my absence is that I have had a rough time trying to keep my mind busy and as I noticed during the first few days that sitting at my computer all day didn't cut it. I started to get stressed out and couldn't focus on anything for more than a couple of seconds.

It has now been 11 days, 5 hours and 13 minutes since my last cigarette and I am finally starting to feel better. The days have gone by very slow for me but it's been getting easier and easier as time has passed. I've tried logging on to Steemit and have probably started about fifty different posts since I decided to quit smoking only to lose my temper and flip out when I couldn't focus on writing. Today I finally woke up feeling better and actually being able to put my focus into something that matters. I decided to share my progress with you on staying smoke-free and also what I've been doing during this time.

To start off here are my stats on the app that I've been using since I quit. It has really helped out during cravings to look at the progress and know that it's not all for nothing.

Screenshot_20170801-171352.jpg

Now after all this time it really sounds insane to spend around two thousand euros a year on smoking something that's as dangerous as tobacco. I am going to continue using the app as long as I feel I need to be able to remind myself of my goals!


The first couple of days went by incredibly slow and after a while I realized that sitting inside would drive me insane. So I called up a buddy who I knew didn't smoke and asked what he was up to. I left for the city shortly afterwards to meet him and after some catching up we started walking around the centre! It was kind of sunny that day so we decided to go hiking along a trail that goes through this beautiful island called Ruissalo. On our way there we passed my buddys art exhibition which was in the city. It was a window exhibition which basically means you pay the place to let you hang up your art in the window. Sounds like the opposite of Steemit so I was pretty excited to introduce him to the platform. To my surprise he had already created an account a while back when I had first mentioned it to him but he never really understood it so he never got properly started. I tried my best to explain it to him and I think he really liked the whole idea. Here is a picture of his paintings. He really is amazing and I hope soon we will get to see his art here.

steemit1.png

And here is another one of the whole window. The reflection made it a little difficult to get a good picture but as I mentioned we might have it here on Steemit soon enough!

steemit2.png

Go ahead and check out his account and first post at @kasper.august where you can follow him so you don't miss out on his posts when they start coming! Also if you want to see more of his art right now you can check out his Instagram account aswell at the same username. After a while we continued on towards the island of Ruissalo.


Ruissalo

We arrived at the island after about an hour and took the first path into the trail. We stopped at a few spots to catch our breath and also get some sun. It was really beautiful that day and here are some photos I took during the hike:

20170726_163219.jpg

It really felt great to be outside and this was probably the first time that cigarettes didn't cross my mind for a whole day. The only thing you could worry about was ticks and fortunately they never bite me so there was nothing for me to worry about other than walking. Which felt perfect. Here is another photo from one of the spots we stopped at:

20170726_164316.jpg

Another one!

20170726_170619.jpg

After this picture was taken we started walking back towards the start of the trail so that we could head back to the city. I got home pretty late that day and I was really exhausted so falling asleep was no problem like it had been the days before due to the nicotine.

Since then I've been staying outside as much as possible and I've been trying to avoid as much smoke as I could.


It feels great to be back on Steemit and finally being able to focus on posting again! I missed all of you and I hope you've all been well! :)

Take care everyone and have a great rest of the week!
SteemitStrawhat.jpg

Peace out, Strawhat

Sort:  

Wow, that's some really impressive art by him. He should get more active on here. ^^

I agree! :)

Same thoughts over here

Welcome Back!!!!!!!!
You have been missed honestly!
You really doing well, 11 days - smoke free that's AWESOME!
From I what I have been told, once you pass the 2 week mark you are well on your way to a healthy body again.
I also really like your friends art, I will be following him for sure.
I love hiking trails , the pics that you have captured are truly beautiful.
Stay Smoke free my friend!!!!!
Once again really great to have to back and focused.

Thank you :) feels great to be back! So many warm welcomes. I will my friend!

Thanks again and take care

Well done so far! There are people who fail in quitting, but there are plenty of folks who succeed.

I do hope you'll be a winner and you'll keep on posting on Steemit :)

Thanks man! It feels great so far :)

I'm so happy you decided to quit and are feeling more focused and back online. This post was a pleasure to read plus the photos and your friends art work are wonderful. Art and nature are inspirational and good medicine for the healing journey. Sending positive thoughts and vibezzz your way.

Thank you :) means a lot!

Same to you

Thank you!

We missed you too man! :d
See? I told you, easy to quit smoking!

Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezee :D Thanks man!

I think most people say the first week of quitting smoking is the hardest, so hopefully it'll just continue to get easier and easier for you to stay away from cigs, man. You're definitely making the right choice by quitting though!

And, those are some gorgeous pieces of art! Gonna go check out that guys account and give him a follow for when he starts posting some more :)

I hope so too! :) Thank you.

Yeah do that, I believe he will start very soon and he has loads of original content :)

Already done, buddy! Looking forward to his content :)

well done for quitting smoking! I wish I was that strong. do you mind sharing the app's name you are using, maybe this is all I need too, to stop smoking.

thank you

Of course! The app is called "Smoke Free" :) it helped out a lot and I wish you all the luck in quitting :)

thank you. much appreciated.

Welcome back.... and a super huge CONGRATULATIONS on 11 days smoke free! That's an awesome achievement; you're through some of the most difficult days (this, according to my wife, who has quit at least 5 times...), so keep it going!

Beautiful artwork-- hopefully we'll see more of it on Steemit if your friend decides to get seriously involved here.

Thank you :) yeah, an officer in the military always said " it's easy to stop smoking, I've done it 8 times" as a joke :D but I'm gonna stick with it :)

I hope so too! :) thanks for taking the time to comment :3

congratulations man. Stopping with smoking.. That is a very very nice achievement. I wanna stop smoking myself but didnt succeed so far. I am proud of you! Never again begin with it! well done!

thanks man :) I wish you all the luck if you ever decide to quit! :3

its good you are trying to quit, its hard , my friend tried it but could not
I hope you do

Thank you for the support :) good luck to your friend also

welcome back to steemint again yes i dont see ur post from some days i see ur everypost and really get knoledge from u and appriciate u for ur work on steemit...and smooking is not good for health @strawhat

Thank you for the welcome :) feels great to be back! Thanks, that means a lot! Take care

I wondered where were you all this time :D Yeah it takes time before your body completely removes all the nicotine. It's really hard to focus on anything at the beginning. I'm glad you didn't give up on quitting ! :)

In this lobby, will there be T.P.? For my bunghole?

Do you have T.P. for my bunghole? I would hate for my holio to get polio.

It was really impossible to focus on anything yeah :D Thank you :) I love your avatar btw :D kinda reminds me of Luffy !

Yeah I made it with photoshop hehe :D

welcome back to steemit leave ur smoking u feel better i also leave smoking from last 5 years and now i feel fit

I feel a lot better already so I can't imagine how good it feels after 5 years :) great job on quitting!

welcom back and congrats for ur now again work

Thank you :)

ur all posts are such for learen us and i saw ur blog today and i followed u for more get knoledge from u

Thank you :) I will provide

good for ur back to the steemit now keep it up always

Thanks :)

His writing is very good. I am happy with this paper and it is very useful for me. Read your writing as if I have just been hit by heavy rain after a very long dry season. My greetings from Aceh; @fahrilzubir.

Thank you. Means a lot!

Congratulations!! I have never smoked and most of my friends do. I know how tough it has been for them to try quit multiple times. Stay strong! 💪

Pack a day smoker ... It's been 7 days and I'm feeling great... Went cold turkey.. first 2 days sucked but now I'm only getting 2-3 urges a day.

That's great to see you back and you not smoked that's more cool :)
BTW nice post loved the pics you had an amazing day.

Quitting smoking is never easy, i quit 7 years ago. And once a smoker always a smoker. It gets easyer but there are always those moments. I don't want to scare you or anything, just beeing realistic. But i wish you all the luck!

Nice pictures , Looks like a nice day,

Wow now you can use that money in powering up here and you will just increase it day by day.

you post very few a week seems a busy man

Great work on 11 days smoke free! Hopefully 17 by now? :) Really nice pictures of Ruissalo too, I have thought so many times that I should take a walk there but for some reason I never managed to go. Walking in the forest is so nice and therapeutic!

edit: I have also had some problems with staying active on steemit lately, so much on my mind with work and the upcoming move. But I will try my best to post more when I am in Long Beach :)