TV SHOW REVIEW // Blue Mountain State

in #comedy7 years ago

Title: Blue Mountain State
Genre: Comedy
Created By: Eric Falconer & Chris Romano
Number Of Seasons: 3
Episode(s) Run Time: 20-21 minutes
Original Network: Spike
Years Televised: 2010-2011
Personal Rating: 4 out of 5

Including many faces that I've actually never seen before, which I think added to the charm of the show, including names such as:
Darin Brooks
Alan Ritchson
Chris Romano
Ed Marinaro
Kwasi Songui
James Cade
Denise Richards
Frankie Shaw
Sam Jones III
Page Kennedy
& Rob Ramsay

I absolutely loved watching this show. It's fucking hilarious. One of my cousins recommended I watch this show awhile back when I was starting high school, but I never really got around to it. Years later, I turned it on and I wished I had watched it much earlier! While I didn't recognize any of the cast, it still lived up to it's hype. Everyone said it was hilarious and everyone was right. It follows the Blue Mountain State college football team and all the crazy shit they get into being football player's in college. Being that this show was released through SpikeTV the humor steers a lot more towards a male audience. While this may be true, I know plenty of females that loved this show as well, but I know a few who might not. As I kept watching it reminded me a lot of the National Lampoon's Van Wilder movie. It has a lot of similarities. Both films take place in college, a lot of partying takes place, and the goofy sexual humor all show similarities. It made it all the more interesting to watch.

While this show is about a college football team, it's not always the main focus. They had plenty of topics besides football that would keep the show moving. And they had no shortage of characters, that's for sure. To portray a football team, you're gonna need a decent amount of people and they pulled it off for sure. If this show wasn't on SpikeTV I definitely could have seen it being a part of Comedy Central. It only went for 3 seasons, why, I'm not so sure, it definitely disappointed me. While I can't really see it going more than 4 seasons, because typically you go to college for 4 years, anything more than that would have been excessive or would have needed a whole new cast full of new players. There no other way it would have made any sense, honestly. But, despite it's quick finish, I definitely loved the way they ended it. A few years after they made a movie based off of the team's captain Thad Castle and it's just as awesome as the show. I definitely recommend you watch both! It's well worth it!

Sort:  

Great show. Absolutely loved it. Thad is a character that I liked more and more as the show progressed.

Yes, in the end Thad was my favorite character without a doubt!

Thanks for the comment!