Kevin Hart: Irresponsible- It's good, but his other specials are better

in #comedy5 years ago

It is starting to look as though Kevin might start to suffer from over-saturation if he is not careful. I find the dude funny but it seems like every time i turn around there is a new Hart special or movie. Irresponsible it good and it is funny, but I think maybe my Kevin Hart tank is full and I am starting to not be that interested in him anymore.


source

While the tour took place all over the world, the special available on Netflix takes place in O2 area in London in front of a massive crowd of nearly 50,000 people. I think it is pretty special when a comedian can pull an audience this large and to be fair there are not many people that can pull that off.


source

Once again Kevin does all situational comedy and wisely stays away from any controversial topics that could possibly divide his audience such as politics or really anything where he attempts to lecture his crowd or even direct their way of thinking for the most part.

I like this about Kevin but one thing that I am noticing is that his comedy seems to always center around how short and black he is and well, I think that there are really only so many jokes you can tell about the same thing before it starts to get a bit "meh." It hasn't happened to me yet but I think that if he keeps that up I may lose interest pretty soon.

Kevin is still funnier than most of his contemporaries. I am still glad I watched this but to be honest I can't rank it as highly as the best of the best. I would put this special into the category of....

"Really Good"


If you are interested here is a list of the specials I have watched that are currently available on Netflix (for my region anyway.)

Stuff I rate as "excellent"


Ricky Gervais- Humanity
Adam Sandler: 100% Fresh
Joe Rogan: Strange Times
Dave Chappelle: Equanimity, The Age of Spin, and Deep in the Heart of Texas

The "Really Good" stuff I have seen includes


Nate Bargatze: The Tennessee Kid
Kevin Hart: Irresponsible

The "decent" stuff I have seen includes


Zach Galifianakis live at the purple onion
Ellen Degeneres: Relatable
Ken Jeong: You Complete me, Ho

And the really not so good to awful stand up is


Amy Schumer: Growing
Amy Schumer: The Leather Special (quite possibly the most unfunny thing I have ever seen)
Donald Glover: Weirdo
Hannibal Buress: Comedy Camisado

Sort:  

Amy Schumer: The Leather Special (quite possibly the most unfunny thing I have ever seen)

This is definitely cringe.

Thanks for the summary. I'll have to go back and watch some of these.

Kevin Hart becoming too common sounds a lot like what happened to Eddie Murphy in my opinion back in the day when he started doing Dr DoLittle and was going like 1 movie a year for some company.

yes... but the good news for Hart and also for Eddie Murphy is that if they handle their money wisely and don't pull a Nicholas Cage / Johnny Depp / Robert DeNiro... they will be just fin financially after their appeal wears off.

Hell, i read the other day that Vanilla Ice managed his fortune very well and despite the fact that he hasn't been taken seriously by the entertainment industry for many years, that he is financially set for life because he always lived within his means. LL Cool J is the same.

https://www.diynetwork.com/shows/the-vanilla-ice-project

I don't remember if this is on Netflix or I watched it on something else, but he's apparently very succesful at flipping houses and is what he started doing even before becoming "Vanilla Ice" the rapper.

You can make anyone appear to be anyway on TV, but it appears he's pretty smart and is pretty good at what he does. I'm sure it's easy to make money flipping houses though when you're paid through tv contracts regardless if you flip the house for profit

I'm sure it helps to be "famous" as well as the house you flip can carry a premium.

i have to watch this am a big fan of Kevin Hart , hope i wont be disappointed,

He's a special comedian and the feeling of having Kevin Hart on stage already is experincing a glee, thing is, he's basically one of the best situational comedian and the fact that he draws up his jokes from mostly his experiences are way good for me.

I’ve heard a few people tell me to avoid Amy shumer. I’ll check out the list from the top.

Posted using Partiko iOS

you should definitely watch (try to watch) Schumer so that you can have a reason to know why your friends were correct.

hon greate job doodream very intresting post.