Sex, Drugs, and a Hello from Ron.

in #comedy8 years ago (edited)

Hello, I'm Ron!

We live in amazing times. We can fly to the moon (allegedly), 3D print food and tweet the Pope. 

Steemit

Years from now some people may want to “take back,” their tweet to the Pope, and if they tried 3D printed pizza, they may want to take that back too. Some things aren’t a good idea in hindsight. It’s safe to say I’m not typically an early adopter because of that. But Steemit is different.  

I’ve creeped around for two weeks looking at blog posts and comments. I have a few take-aways: 

1. The community is fantastic. I believe Steemit has a great ratio of people who want to make this platform every thing it can be and it shows in the interactions i’ve witnessed on posts and the content I’ve read… speaking of content. 

2. The content is great. With the exception of only a few posts I’ve really enjoyed the smart, thoughtful and the variety of content out there. I can’t wait to make friends and explore even further now that I’m a member. 

Who is Ron? 

Hopefully you’re wondering who I am by now. I’m Ron. I’ve spent most of my life delaying dreams to take the safe route. As a result I’ll talk about that a lot. I’ve only recently realized the safe route isn’t safe at all. I’ve always had a back-up plan and like every other person with a back-up plan, I took the back-up plan many times. 

It’s like the old adage, if you’re thinking about retirement, you’re retired. I feel like when you really have a dream you have to focus on that dream with everything you have and every back-up plan is just a way out when the dream gets tough. 

I’ve been a writer most of my life and spent a short time as a journalist too. The pain of delaying my dreams manifest itself in ways I didn’t recognize at the time. Eating became my escape and entertainment. As the years passed, my weight rose. I ballooned to over 400lbs. 

Food became so important to me that I literally felt anxiety thinking about Mcdonald’s closing down. Imagine my terror when Hostess actually didn’t shutter for a short time. 

I’ve since changed my views on food and detached myself, but the war rages on.

What Will Ron Write?                                          

I’m here to share some of the more interesting parts of my life. Like finding out a friend of mine was being charged with the RICO act for selling spice and then realizing a preacher, two cops and a libertarian clown were also involved. He was literally a libertarian clown. I’ve taken bath salts without eating anyone, unless oral sex counts. I was invited into an elite swingers club and learned things I never wanted to learn. I can’t wait to share all these stories with you over time along with a few original fiction pieces I hope to get your opinion on.  

Other posts include information about NLP, human psychology, habit changing, and my weight loss journey. 

Thanks for reading this far. I hope to see you around and can’t wait to keep reading the awesome content around here. 

P.S, It would be really cool to go to the moon. Maybe that's what Steemit is all about, doing things that have never been done before. 

P.S.S The photo above was taken at one of the swingers parties I attended. 

Ron

Sort:  

Welcome. Steemit needs more Rons.

Thanks, Condra. Appreciate you stopping by!

Ron, welcome to the party!

Thanks, Feature. I appreciate the invite!