Arsenic Lullaby- Lovecraft illustration...weirdest thing I've ever done? maybe

in #comics5 years ago (edited)

MOTHER HYDRA THE SEA MONKEY?

Every once in awhile I draw something and when I’m done think to myself “what the hell did I just draw?”…even at this stage of my sordid career.

I mentioned in a previous post that Monsterwax was putting out a Lovecraft Trading card set featuring three illustrations done by me

https://steemit.com/comics/@arseniclullaby/arsenic-lullaby-monsterwax-trading-cards-exclusive-sneak-peak

This is the second H.P. Lovecraft set they put out. I was late getting in on the first set but MonsterWax had me do up some sketch cards as bonuses to be inserted randomly in packs of the trading cards. I did the usual Cthulhu and Lovecraft himself on some,

MWX cthulhu greets.jpg

monsterwax 2.jpg

but also did a few of Mother Hydra.

legendary lovecraft 4.jpg

The image of her on a pile of eggs was WTF moment. It’s one of the weirder things I’ve ever done, and that is saying a lot.

I decided this would be a good illustration to redo at 11×17 to break in some new brushes. New brushes take getting used to, especially when inking curved lines. Sometimes they are stiff and don’t bend as well as old ones, or are much more flexible, and this image has a hell of a lot of curved lines. Drawing small enough to do an original piece on something the size of a trading card is tough, but doing the same thing in detail at 11x17 inches is a completely different challenge...and better for breaking in a brush because the brush has to flex and hold for a longer stretch of paper...of course then so does my hand and fingers.

If I recall correctly, this was only the second time I’ve ever illustrated nipples...(nipples censored here. If you wanna see the nipples you'll have to check it out on Makersplace

MH1.jpg

MH4.jpg

MH5.jpg

MH6.jpg

MH7.jpg

Are those pics fuzzy or is it just me? My camera...i dunno...it's time for a new one. Here's a scan of the final inks

Mother Hydra bw700.jpg

I went I got to coloring I decided this looked more like a sea monkey to me ( you remember those old ads?)

so I colored it thusly

ONMotherHydra.jpg

You can currently see this uncensored image AND own a digital copy at Makersplace (link below)

https://makersplace.com/store/arseniclullaby/

You can read more about the current set of Lovecraft trading cards at this link (below)

https://steemit.com/comics/@arseniclullaby/arsenic-lullaby-monsterwax-trading-cards-exclusive-sneak-peak

Next time an update on Casper the Friendly Ghost...

STMTBannerscrawl.jpg

Sort:  

I remember the sea monkey ads in comics as a kid, but didn't know anyone who got some. Love the pictures.

I know someone who got them...they are just brine shrimp and aren't humanoid at all:/
#comics

But the naughty bits are visible in the like... 4th piccar, by the coin ! YOU ARE GIVING AWAY THE GOODS~

#comics

Those are just sketched naughty bits...the details one are more glorious hahaha #comics

Nothing can beat the mountain-genitals of a previous post ;)