You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Even More Waiting - My Journey to Opening a Store

in #comics4 years ago

Just remember your concerns when they try to bamboozle you into taking possession before the work is done. The land lord is not going to want to be rent free while people try to get needed work done. The current tenant is not going to want to close up shop before his final sale day, and is not likely going to want people doing work while he has customers. Your concerns are spot on, once the change occurs, I am sure the slow lawyer will be very quick to point out that "in line 231 of section 23, you agreed to these terms", when the work is not done.

Sort:  

I won't back down on this. Not a chance they will get me to take possession before the work is completed. At that I will be adding an addendum to the contract once they get it to me spelling out that all landlord work shale be completed before March 1st (time of lease commencement).

This way if it's not done and they give me a hard time I can just point out that they are in breach of contract.