It Has Begun... the Magical Apocalypse of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." is Arriving!

in #comics5 years ago

Perhaps this should feel more like an ending or finish line, but in reality it is only the first faltering steps of a long journey ahead!

I've been pretty absent these past few weeks as I've spent almost every spare waking moment working on "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." The Baltimore Comic-Con which I set my sights on at the beginning of the year is a mere 36 hours away and I am scrambling to get as much prepared as I can.

Last night the first batch of printed issues arrived on my doorstep.


IMG_3461.jpeg


I have some seriously bipolar feelings about it! On the one hand it's exciting and invigorating. I do recognize that it's the most ambitious and accomplished work I've produced and released into the world to date. However it's not up to the standards I set out to achieve and I'm continuing to work on this issue. Despite putting in hundreds of hours of effort over the past year, I seriously underestimated the remaining workload, leaving some areas very rough, rushed, and in my mind, underwhelming. While I begin on issue #2, I'll be editing and revising issue #1 to a higher level of polish while doing my best not to bog down in perfectionism.

I chose to "re-brand" this print run from a debut edition, to a preview edition. It's essentially a rough cut for early adopters and my few already hardcore fans! The Baltimore Comic Con 2019 Preview Edition is limited to 100 signed and numbered copies, some of which I already have earmarked for my early Fundition Campaign supporters.


IMG_3463.jpeg


Tomorrow night after work I'll be picking up freshly printed marketing materials, including 1000 postcards and a 7 foot banner stand for behind my table. I'm excited to see how they turned out. Of course, on both, Steem is my first listed social media.


itiwbzbannerdisplay2_web.jpg


I think Julie's gonna look good kicking some ass life sized!


While not the flawless and robust launch I'd imagined in my head many months ago, I'm really excited for the weekend to come. I already feel motivated to keep pressing forward and just do everything better. The days to come will be a great influx of motivation, feedback, and learning.

I'll do my best to at least make some short postings, share photos via Appics, etc. during the course of the convention; and look forward to sharing some fuller write ups of my recent experiences and work in progress beginning next week when I settle back into some semblance of normalcy.

A huge thanks to everyone who has been such staunch supporters of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." when I first started sharing some character designs on Steem years ago. I honestly don't think I would have done it without you.

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff


This is an official Fundition campaign update post to help fund the publication of the independent comic "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." meaning your votes alone can help you earn rewards like a free copy of the comic and more! For more information check out https://fundition.io/ and the prior update articles for "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..."!



itiwbz_button.pngafd_button.pngseer_button.png



@bryan-imhoff | @spottyproduction | @exploreunlimited

@steem-comic-con | @creatingcomics

Sort:  

Congrats man! You should let yourself celebrate at least a little. Having physical copies in hand is a huge milestone.

Congratulations! And best of luck at the Comic Con!

Thanks! It was a good time and went well... I’m just dragging on writing up my recap. I neglected a lot of chores and general obligations beforehand that I’m just getting back to now!

Good luck at the The Baltimore Comic-Con, hope all goes well for you, have a calming sip, sip only, of virtual !BEER.

Oh! honey this is amazing! It is fascinating to see your creation, I really like the colors and the cover is great ..
Congratulations for finishing your comic .. I know how you feel, you work on something but when you have it ready you see it and you say I think I could do better by changing such things. But I also believe this is like a project with more ambition and that it is really an achievement to have finished it after so much effort and hours of work ....

It was great to see the process as it was done and the end result is great. Steemit witnesses your comic. I know everyone will love it. MUCH LUCK!

OHHHHH!!! I WANT ONE OF THOSE :).
Many warm hugs

Thank you so much! I still have more work to do before I consider this issue truly finished, but it is a milestone! I’ll be sure to at least send you a digital copy of the final issue and look into sending you a printed one as well!

Wow that' impressive! Well done on getting this preview version printed. Such an achievement already. The life sized posters will be awesome I'm sure. This needs to be seen!

The banner turned out pretty good! I took lots of notes on ways to improve my display for conventions in 2020!

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

So happy for ya bud! I wish I was able to make it this year but with my pup Bindi on the decline and needing lots of extra care, there is just no shot. I do want a few of them though for the shop and of course one for myself. Shoot me a text when you get a sec and we can catch up before the madness starts! Congrats once again!

Totally understandable! Not to mention you’re still recovering from NYCC! There’s definitely a copy with your name on it and likely a few for the shop as well. I don’t anticipate a sell out! But the real “mass market” edition will now be arriving in early 2020!


This project is being supported by @Fundition the next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform, built on the Steem blockchain.

Read the full details of Fundition Fund program
Learn more about Fundition by reading our purplepaper
work_on_progess.gif

steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png
Join a community with heart based giving at its core
Fundition is a non profit project, by supporting it with delegation you are supporting 200+ projects.
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

Love that cover image, well done! it has been fun watching the progress of this come together.

Thanks man! You’re one of the few who’s seen it since my beginnings on Steem. Thanks so much for the support!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @blewitt.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

That's so cool. I hope people treasure those early editions. Good on you for promoting Steem. It's turning into a great place to enjoy comics.

I like the “Trojan Horse” style of promotion... just put Steem our there and let the curious check it out. I’m so excited to see communities roll out. I think we’ll really be able to grow the comics following then. I just hope the increasing compartmentalizations won’t hinder great guys like you from stumbling onto the geekiness! You’ve been a great supporter!

I'd like to be able to buy more comics for Steem, but really need the price to go up a bit first.

Hello @bryan-imhoff, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!



Hey @bryan-imhoff, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!