Beard of Dust - Spaghetti Western (Spring 2014 when i Startet building my comiccareer but was piss poor)

in #comics7 years ago (edited)

I had startet in the Fall of 2013 into my Comiccareer,...with just the Imagination i Can create a comic, someone will find it and will make my living of it. I had finished filmschool, and worked for german movies, but I was not happy and so i followed finally my Passion of Drawing and Telling storys.... little did I know that i was embarking on a wild trip...
2014 was my poorest and loneliest year of my life.... i spent most of my time at the drawing table honing my craft...
I did not know what i was really doing, but i felt it in me,....after all i had a degree in Bachelor of Arts, so i knew how
to start and finish things and make them in my eyes remarkable...

I had startet a couple of "One Page Comics" after i failed to draw my epic Comic about a German Bodybuilder who
goes on a Rampage against the Italian Mafia in a small german cowtown...
And I was watching spaghetti western.... and I found out about Patreon (http://bit.ly/2uEvCjj) from the Great guy who makes "Your movie Sucks" (http://bit.ly/1WRX6ZC) and i thought.... man that is what i need to do.
Work directly for my fans....give them what they want!

And so i thought....let's do an awesome Patreon Introvideo....of a farmer that has his land ....and wants to cultivate it
to make a living....but than bandits show up (yeah, i saw my lifesituation similar ....here is the vid: http://bit.ly/2tW3H0S )

While drawing i Postet this finishided scenes on Facebook, a former teacher from movieschool saw them, and told a friend of his, working for animated movies here in germany they should take a look at my art.

So they Contacted me, and asked if I wanted to come to them (a big german city) and work for them.
I was flattered....but than i thought... Wait, I quit movies to make comics, and now if i go back to movies..
well animated movies, will I betray the thing i wanted to do: Draw and tell stories, make comics.
They wanted me to be their Storyboard artist, so afterall they would PAY me to DRAW and TELL storys...
Win Win....

And than I thought....(maybe this was my fear) when i go....maybe i like it so much there and get so comfortable
with the money and the big city, that i won't return to comics.... (And i recalled this scene from the great movie
"Don't mess with Zohan: http://bit.ly/2tVU2XQ - the electronic store is a dream killer)

I don't really know if i decided out of fear, or of love.... but i went deeper into my art and soul, and a pretty loney and poor
first year... this was the start of the journey to become a comic writer / penciler!

01_BoD_w.jpg02_BoD_w.jpg03_BoD_w.jpg04_BoD_w.jpg05_BoD_w.jpg
06_BoD_w.jpg
07_BoD_w.jpg
08_BoD_w.jpg
09_BoD_w.jpg
10_BoD_w.jpg
11_BoD_w.jpg

(Here you find it on Tapastic: https://tapas.io/episode/39758)

Sort:  

Really evocative :) Hope we will be able to see the finish product one day!

Thank you! I am pretty sure we will... I get really good at finishing products and making them good!
Spaghetti Western is a big passion of mine!

Which ones are your favourites? Apart Sergio Leone's of course. Mine is Il mercenario by Sergio Corbucci

God Mercenario is so goood!...

haha! One of my favourite scene ever... And such a good music. No wonder Tarantino borrowed it too.

Congratulations @dariodidonato! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!