Comic Storage

in #comics3 years ago

20210423_161324.jpg

Having gotten back into the hobby of comic collecting, I decided to store my purchases in graphic storage boxes. The office in my current home is fairly new, so I figured this would be a perfect home for my comics and graphic novels. I have always tried to keep anything I've collected over the years in the same condition as when it was purchased. I guess it is true that you can tell a lot about a person by the books they read.

My book collection was much larger at one time, but downsizing for a move forced me to get rid of much of my collection (not comics though). I also sold my record collection that helped pay for a nice vacation. That is a story for another time.

Marvel has been my main company, but I have always been intrigued by DC's Batman. As a kid growing up in the Bronx, I used to walk to the local candy store and pick out my latest comics. I wish I had thought of preserving some of those issues back then. I remember reading the latest adventures of Archie, Richie Rich and Hot Stuff. I still bought those titles even when I started getting into the superheroes.

My first independent company that I started picking up issues of superheroes from was Image. This was especially true of the Savage Dragon. Reading some of the Dragon's latest issues almost made the hero unrecognizable to me. Daredevil and Hulk were my favorite Marvel titles, with Submariner and Thor following close behind. Batman was my DC fave!

I do have some old issues that are from the 80s or 90s that I bought when they came out, but I remember those oldies as a kid that had a totally different feel to them. The color and lettering wasn't as sharp as it is today. You could say that I never grew up, but is that necessarily a bad thing.