You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: July 27th, 2020... Celebrating My First Four Years on Hive

in #comics4 years ago

Please don't take the following negatively- I'm sincerely curious- since there was a lot of emotional drama in conversion from Steem to Hive ... And I'm not going down that road!

Does it feel disingenuous to say you've been on the Hive Platform for 4 years when it was Steem until only a handful of months ago? I've been here since June 2017, about 11 months fewer than you, but I don't think that I'd feel comfortable to say that I'm celebrating my first "Hive" anniversary until the hard fork date.

I'm just curious if that thought went through your mind as you were posting this/ why you decided to completely neglect mentioning the blockchain that shall not be named 🙂

Sort:  

I had the one line in there that Hive was formerly referred to as Steem!😄

It honestly feels like the right thing to say and celebrate to me. Hive was simply forced to leave the name of Steem behind, and I think that was a good thing. But in all other respects Hive is in my eyes Steem Classic for lack of a better term.

As far as the Hive blockchain is concerned, my account was still created 4 years ago today. Blockchain forks are an odd phenomenon to wrap my head around of course... but I look at it this way...


image.png


If I was hiking for three and a half hours and veered right at this fork; a half hour later I wouldn't say I'd been hiking for a half an hour. My path was four hours long, and it hasn't varied, regardless of whether there were other directions I could have gone. That's how I feel about my Hive journey.

(conversely, I also wouldn't say that today is also my fourth anniversary on Steem, because that's the path I haven't followed.)

That split in the path analogy is bang on. I am coming up to my forth birthday next month too.

Oh bugger - looks like I'm blocked on your posts - no idea why, let me know if you feel like it!

Well, to be fair, you are a self admitted offensive prick! Honestly we're just on completely different ends of the political spectrum. I don't recall exactly what tag feeds I was following or why your content was popping up often for me, but I know that I was probably typing an argumentative comment or hovering over the downvote button and opted for the mute button instead.
Call me triggered, or building an echo chamber... it was just to keep myself out of drama. I believe your comments are only "blocked" on PeakD for those using the option to filter by author preferences. I don't think people should necessarily make use of that setting. It's not my intent to censor your well intentioned comments here.

No worries - I think the mute button is a great idea and use it myself (but I hate downvotes)

I won't get into any subjects here because I have no idea which ones are problem areas. I've unfollowed you so as to avoid commenting on your posts in future, but no hard feelings and thanks for answering.

I'm always a bit surprised when my frot account is muted because in my mind I'm very restrained on this account (especially on Hive) - the same cannot be said for some of my old Steemit accounts!

It's exactly what I'd say as well (my forth birthday is next month)

The only emotion I had at leaving Steemit for Hive was happiness at getting a fresh start. By 2019, Steemit sucked and I was only still using it because I didn't want to walk away from what had taken three years to build. But the truth is I had come to hate the place. Since the hardfork I've never again posted, commented or even voted on k.Steemit, and just look at it for about 1 min once a week to see if it is still there.

Hive now is what Steemit was for the first two years

I stopped activity on Steem as I didn't want to be part of a transaction count metric shilled to promote Justin Sun's personal blockchain. I still peek in from time to time as well to see what's going on there (which is not much), kind of like a creepy slow cruise past an ex's house...