You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Comic Creator Trapped in the Body of a Mortal Man... (the Updated, Expanded, and Revised Edition!)

in #comics4 years ago

Hey Bryan, following you because i love your comic art and you remind me of a good friend i had growing up. The two of us decided to fight against the powers that be at our high school (a new dean of men trying to make a name for himself with the referal and detention slip booklet he carried with himself who was a little too over zealous) so we made an anonymous comic series ruthlessly lampooning him. photocopied hundreds of copies and distributed them to everyone's locker every week for a semester straight. Every day for a while after school we'd race to each others house and work on the next chapter of the comic series. The dean didnt like it but the student body and many of the school teachers thought it was hilarious. Never turned us into the dean who was looking for the anonymous writers of the book the whole time even though almost all the faculty knew. They didnt like the guy either.

Anyways, quick question about your art. I've noticed a dog that you include on many of your projects. Any significance behind the dog? I'm a dog lover.

Best,

Hidave (formally steemydave at that other place)

Sort:  

What a great story @hidave! I never did anything quite so subversive, I think the best high school work I did was "Madam Moo Moo", a horoscope reading cow fortune teller in the school paper. 😆

Thanks so much for the compliments! The dog you keep seeing is Bonnie. The main cast of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." are all based on friends of mine, and Bonnie is one of their real life pets. She's a rescue with a prosthetic leg and I just knew I had to include her in the story as well.

Thanks again for checking in and sharing that story, see you around the Hive!

Thats awesome about Bonnie. Shes gotta be quite the character. Im glade you include her in your artwork. The one of the boy hugging her i think us my favorite.

Looking forward to your future posts!

Oh, I can’t take credit on that one! The Skyward cover pictured is an example of work by Jeremy Dale, an acquaintance who sadly passed away a few years back. It’s mentioned briefly in the article but perhaps I should caption that pic to clarify!