Black Magic In Scania

in #comics5 years ago (edited)

There is no Phill page this week, but as a compensation I have made this page instead. Note that it is pure and safe for work. The page is made with Inkscape and Krita and I will publish it on my katharsisdrill profile one of these days. (which mean that it will be Creative Commons -by 4.0


This work is licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Attribute - Katharsisdrill - Link to: https://www.datataffel.dk/u/katharsisdrill

Sort:  

hahahah the coming of the dark gods means the internet dying is so hilarious to me :D

Only just safe from NSFW, and this is emphasised by scrutinising a certain area of the page... LOL..

Yeps. I am cautious sometimes.

Haha, great compensation for the missing Phill page and I really love, that you recently started to use colours more often in your drawings.
P.S.: I never was at Buxtehude Festival, but if I will ever go there, I will force my wife to wear this #nsfw bra ;-)

I kind of regained my interest in colours. I have been very annoyed by screen-colours, but then I began rereading the Incal in the original colouring (I still have the albums from the late eighties and my brain started to work on the possibilities.

P.S. You have to be firm. No baroque festival if she doesn't use that bra!

Much as I love the internet I think it could do us some good if it all just shut down for a while and people re-focused on the here and now. I'd certainly get more done.

We all use it so much that we would go into a shock if Gösta and Barbro (the two evil wizards) really made the conjuring! I use a lot of time in front of a computer already, and I could really use a couple of weeks just reading for example.

As for the drawings, the shadows & light are very effective and well done.

As for the message, agree ;-) TV Infotainment has switched from "talking heads" to "shouting heads," so take a break & listen to some music :-)

And be thankful for what you got

I have been looking at Richard Corben's ugly but fascinating comics artwork. You should also note the special male svenskerhår (Swede's hair).

P.S. I am the most thankful person on earth, even with people sending me such fine music!

I knew you Danes were the happiest people on earth, so being the most thankful is a good fit!

PS Also I was impressed with the "Buxtehude" reference. JS Bach walked 450km to visit him, 900 km roundtrip -- great that you gave him a shoutout!

When we refer to these strange comparisons of national happiness we use our own word, lykke. In family with Geman glück, but with another meaning. More like a calm, everyday bliss, and mostly void of outside reasons like personal success and sometimes even in spite of personal failure. Appreciation of life, thankfulness, would be a way to describe it. So the two things are very much connected to us. When we hear we are the most happy (lykkelige) people we just laughs :) Lykke seems to be a thing that can happen to people in Sierra Leone just as well as it can happen to us. Lykke is never to have a public health system... except the appreciation can sometimes be so big that it includes that as well...

I got my gal, got my song, got heaven the whole day long.

In the nineties the reinvention of Buxtehude was a big thing and I attended some concerts and I have quite a few records too. Strange how such beauty can be overlooked for such a long time. I had him present after reading @bengy's very fine post about one of his cantatas. I think you will appreciate it.

That is an insightful look into the Danish national character. I always found it interesting that German uses the same word "Glück" for luck and for happiness.

It seems we Americans aren't too exact in everyday conversation. Pleasure, happiness, fun, & amusement can all be very different things, but are often treated as synonyms.

I appreciate what you are getting at with lykke. Happiness can be defined several ways. My definition of happiness would be somewhat like lykke, a generalized sense of well-being that also embodies contentment, gratitude, and being in-tune with the world.

Bliss of course is that rare state of being that makes even happiness seem trivial.

PS I'm listening to Membra Jesu Nostri by Buxtehude as I write, that's beautiful, thanks for the tip!

Like the word hygge, lykke is just a universal human feeling that we have a word for. I found an interesting article in Danish yesterday where a linguist discussed the international comparisons for the most happy nation. In his opinion it was bound to be wrong as we do not mean the same things with the words. He mentions a Tibetan Buddhist concept, bdewa, that I have only been able to find in Danish text via search engines ?? rather strange. It is supposed to mean inner peace gained through suffering. I only found that dewa should mean: bliss, in this text... Really strange that it is nowhere, not even Google! In any case it does sound like another universal concept that we just doesn't have a word for.

Interesting, the concept of bdewa is new to me.

Buddha's four noble truths relate to suffering, and he taught the principle that cravings are the source of suffering. Overcoming cravings and attachment and following the eight fold path (right intention, right speech, etc.) is the way to overcome suffering and experience bliss.

noble truth of the cessation of suffering: it is the remainderless fading away and cessation of that same craving, the giving up and relinquishing of it, freedom from it, non-reliance on it.

Anyway, a fun discussion that took on a life of its own.

Wow, nice comic! Is it part of a Web series or a standalone page? Buxtehude!

It's a standalone. And Buxtehude was inspired by your Membra Jesu Nostri post.