Phill from GCHQ - page 67 - Unicode

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Unicode - Page 67 of the cartoon about Phill from GCHQ - a free comic that I have been working on since September 2016.

Previous page: Phill from GCHQ - page 66 - Pick up lines

Introduction to this weeks page

Another 14 days wait for the new Phill page is over, but at least it is finally revealed what Phill's secret superpower is: He can remember all the character sets, including Unicode!

The story in this second part has been going through a lot of small country roads with subplots and flashbacks, but now it seems it is back on the motorway! Phill is actually doing things to fight back... even though it is in his introvert, silent way.

You can see the Greathub-logo in the first frame. It was first mentioned at page 13. when I wanted to make a pun at GitHub. You can see the logo in this post

On page 8 you can see that the touchscreen on his security system is using more than just ascii!


Even the Bitcoin symbol - U+20BF - is there which is strange because it was only added to Unicode more than six month later... Maybe I will have to look into that.

Happy reading.

Translations

Thanks to some very dedicated and helpful people the comic about Phill from GCHQ can also be read in other languages. New pages are published on their respective Steemit pages. Please follow them and support their work!

I would be very pleased if you considered supporting the comic with fiat-money on:

or with cryptocoins:

Bitcoins: 1EpzfvHpvYui8dguG2sbxk7VvcehxZGNca

Ether: 0x779f31b12862e6d750cbbcdb9a2c315b44504d83

Litecoin: LcUeDDMSzhaGwMd7m6x1qptdNZ3nrPEyiq

Bitcoin Cash: 17xXYeYrJWReqf9r2sgZf5QtigqvXeURUu

Ripple: rBENrZprLN4sjiVEi8JX5rH48k1B9GK9Gd

Steem: here on Steemit :)

The comic is, like all my digital artworks, made exclusively with open source software:


The comic is licensed as

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC-by)

Sort:  

"Yes, I have a good memory." Heehee.

Nice one, read and enjoyed! Never realised you were such a nerd 8-).

BTW the sentences above "Happy reading." seem to be missing a few words.

Oops! Seems like I have cut'n'pasted all wrong.

And I guess I am a nerd in many ways. I did ask @evilhippie for some general advice though.

I love it when you get geeky. You really should read the Charles Stross books as they cover very similar ground to this comic. I'm still reading one that I will review eventually.

I have read enough to know that I like it a lot, so actually I have stopped reading. I prefer to have it a little less stressed when I am to enjoy art. Looking forward to your review.

Woah!!! You just blew my mind ;-)

katharsis_blown.jpg

Mind Blowing

Well... I'll be buggered too, hope Phill knows Octal, it may be vital!

I am sure he does... The areas he is not so knowledgeable about are: zippers, career planning, cocktail parties, miniature modelling and socializing.

Zippers?

Me too. Barely any knowledge except they go up and then down. We may be similar.

I am sure he understands a bit of the principles behind the zippers, but how to actually make the one in the trousers stay closed is still a mystery to him.

A real code, I'm amazed!
I like this comic very much: it speaks of the many-faceted mind who's creating it.
I'm happy I can draw with you on Dada :D

I love Dada, but have been so busy lately. Thanks for the kind words :) and glad you like the comic!

Wow, that's very nice of you to actually put real riddles in the comic. The riddle is a nice one too, not one I have seen often. Kudos :D.
                           
Though the good memory bit makes me laugh XD.
                           
Congratulations for your curie vote! It's been two years since the last time, and you totally deserved the vote for all the good posts that you spoiled us with ^_^.

Thanks. Happy about that Curie vote. It has been a while since I got more than 10 bucks...

I agree the one should have really great memory but as sometimes the scientists suggests in order to remember something you should find some memorable things, and connect for example the numbers of code with them. I believe these people who like solving riddles they have their own tricks it is something that many people would love to have. Nice portrait of Queen in frame, it is a picture in picture :)

Your comic drawings are always unique. I've been following your drawings from the time of #Steemshorts Contests. Well done @katharsisdrill

Thanks, mate!

Love your comic, @katharsisdrill :) The mysteries and drama ! I really have been enjoying Phill from GCHQ very much !!!

Thanks you so much, Spider!

Hi katharsisdrill,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much!