@coppercoins horror anthology is in the mail!

in #comics4 years ago

How’s it going, Hive! It’s a big day here in my personal life. Every year, I come up with these big, seemingly unobtainable goals, then attempt to overcome them. It’s a trust building exercise for myself, I think. In 2018, it was releasing a book. 2019, it was going to Australia and New Zealand. This year, it was finishing, funding and shipping a comic book! My friend Charles and I started a horror anthology almost two years ago called @coppercoins. This afternoon, I shipped over 100 packages around the world to our IndieGoGo supporters!

This was a huge milestone for me and Charles. He and I met in 2010. He was a struggling writer, and I was a struggling comic book artist, and to be fair, we both still are. Somewhat less struggling, though, as we were both able to raise upwards of $3,600 for what is essentially a zine. There was countless hours of writing and illustration, character and world development and dialog within these pages. Doing a comic like this is much, much harder than you’d think, and that’s from a guy that’s wanted to do this his entire life.

Quite a few in our community supported and backed this comic during the funding drive, and it was so great to write out addresses for @blewitt, @bryan-imhoff, @roadscape and the pillars of the Hive comic enthusiast. Now that the physical copies are en route, @ghostfish and I will be focusing on getting the Kindle version listed on the Kindle Store. We’re also working on a novel called Shibboleth, which we included an excerpt from on the last page. That’ll be the next step for us, once life gets [kinda] back to normal.

This afternoon, after hand writing addresses till my wrist and finger tips felt broken, I brought the entire bin to UPS and mailed them out. When Charles and I wrote this horror story, we weren’t anticipating everyone reading it during a global pandemic, but I hope when it arrives, it gives a momentary escape from the stress of what we’re all going through regarding COVID-19. If you’d like to check out Copper Coins: Passchendaele, you can still pick up a copy or digital download at www.coppercoinszine.com

Sort:  

Super happy to work on this project with you @kommienezuspadt . And to see the results, success, and completion of issue 1. I can attest to the many hours of dedication you’ve personally bleed from your fingers into this project- from illustrating, to layout, to dialog, to campaigning, to printing, to delivering the final goods. See you on the other side of Coronapocalypse to continue the development of issue 2.

Cool stuff and well done on achieving this despite the current crisis. I guess I have a package on the way.

Looking forward to get a copy!

Very cool and congrats on the accomplishment! I can't imagine hand writing all of those addresses in this day and age. I think it lends something special to it though.

I got mine last night!!!!!!!!! It is amazing!

I got mine!! Super pumped to read it.