WE ARE VENOM!- My Venom Fan Art.

in #comics6 years ago

I have been a big fan of Venom since I was a child. I guess I have always loved things that are powerful with big sharp teeth. T-Rex, sharks, crocodiles, dragons and Venom. Needless to say he is a theme that pops up often in my artwork.
For those of you who don't know who Venom is, he is, to keep it simple, one of Spiderman's most powerful villains. He is more powerful than Spiderman in every way. He also becomes a powerful ally to Spiderman later on as he teams up with him to defeat his offspring, Carnage, who is even more powerful still. Venom is a darker version of Spiderman with a sense of justice as he "protects innocents", but instead of handing the baddies over to the cops, he kills them.
VENOM PORTRAIT_cropped_x1600.jpg
This is a piece that I did a while back. I'm always thinking about how things work when I draw. How does Eddie Brock see when the living symbiote suit covers his eyes? How does the symbiote perceive the world? Does it have eyes? Does it use Eddie's eyes some how? How does it open it's mouth so wide and yet we can't see Eddie's mouth batmanning at the back of Venom's throat? I tried to address some of that in this image, thinking of the skull structure and a bump where Eddie's nose would be. You will also notice little electrodes/ or sensors like you would see on an electric eels face. I imagine that Venom senses the world this way and jacks into Eddies vision and enhances it. Electric eel is electric.
I think the huge open mouth that Venom has will be a challenge for the film that is coming out soon (see bottom of post). I am guessing that to resolve this they will scrap the idea that Venom is a suit and will inject it into Eddie resulting in a physical transformation of Eddie into Venom.
Venom WIP 01.jpg
Here is a scan of a page of Venom sketches I did a long time ago.
Venom WIP 02.jpg
Venom Fan art x1600.jpgAll coloured up digitally. He is such a cool Anti-Hero.

So what do you think? Are you looking forward to the movie? I believe this movie will focus on a story arch that does not have Spiderman in it. Is he a government agent assassin in this film? I'm really excited to see it, but also nervous. The last time this character appeared on the big screen it was the HORRIBLE Spiderman 3. I can't even.
So! I will hope for better this time.

Cheers!
@moderndragon
Steemit banner Lynton 2018.jpg

Sort:  

I never have heard of this "Venom" but he looks wicked. My youngest boy will probably want to see this movie.
Nice work Lynton.

Thanks @sultnpapper :) I'm sure he would like it just as much as I did, although, I'm not sure how scary the film is going to be, I loved the comics and cartoons as a kid.

This is awesome work bro! I didn’t know they were making a movie on venom that’s going to be wicked !!

Thanks bro! We should go see it together!

🤔 hmmm ok 🧟‍♂️

Wow. Your drawning looks very good. I do remember the character from the spiderman series I used to be a huge fan. I myself am not so good with drawning. But I was wondering if you were interested into filling up illustrations on my steemit novel. You can find it on my page. If you are interested. Will follow and upvote also. Keep up the good work

Thanks , I'm glad you like my drawings :)

Amazing work and very fascinating

Thank you very much.

Omg! Your Sketch is amazing! It took me awhile to realize where his eye Decals were since I was seeing the little sensory glads as his eyes but then it eventually became clear to me! Gave me shivers, super scary and I'd say that this is an awesome reimagining of the character Venom!

Thanks Nick! I appreciate it. I always try and bring something new to a character. If I were to draw him again today I would probably do it differently again :) I can't wait to see what they do with him in the film!

Otherwise, your scale-like symbiotic suit is a more than real enough re-imagining!

It's a terrible picture but it's pretty shiny movie.....

This post has received gratitude of 1.73 % from @appreciator thanks to: @moderndragon.

You got a 6.67% upvote from @getboost courtesy of @moderndragon!

You got a 3.34% upvote from @getboost courtesy of @moderndragon!