You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Phill from GCHQ - page 78 - Rollin, Rollin...

in #comics5 years ago

I have this engineer's gut feeling batteries will prove to be a dead end for cars. I also have some good reasons to think that.

H2 is a pain to store and transport, but that may be solved someday.

I have been wondering about synthetic gasses that could be transported using existing infrastructure. They would produce CO2 when burned, but no more than what went into producing them. And the cars would still sound good. Not the most efficient or clean solution, but feasible and good enough.

Did I mention the cars would still sound good?

Sort:  

And the good reasons?? It would interest me to hear why you think so.

We have busses in Copenhagen going on biogas made from the households food waste so it is already there.

There are many good reasons, but I don't feel like writing an essay on them. Maybe later.

Biogas is great, and you can synthesise methane and the like from CO2 and H2. Not the prettiest of processes yet, but they have been finding new catalysts for the Sabatier reaction lately.