Sort:  

I tried to look up what a BBC Micro kid is, but I am not sure I found the right thing.

We, like most other continentals... (or Scandinavians at least), was commodore vic-20 and c64 kids. But I remember following the Spectrum through the computer magazines that covered it just as much as Armstrad, Commodore and all the other classic machines.

I am sure they are worth some money now, but it is also possible to buy a new one. While trying to find an image for the next page I fell over The Recreated Sinclair ZX Spectrum.

There were so many different and incompatible computers back then. The Beeb had a proper keyboard, but it was expensive https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/BBC_Micro

Ahh, stupid me. I searched with the kid in the search frase even though I understood your meaning. I got this: BBC micro-bit

I actually think that I read about the BBC micro somewhere, but the British computers I were aware of back then was the Armstrad, the Memotech and the Sinclair Spectrum because I read about them in the magazines.

I can still (if I really concentrate) feel the violent attraction we had against this new technology. Looking at how primitive it was it is not entirely understandable today :)

I had a lot of fun with mine, learning to program and playing games

Yes, same here (with the c64). Basic on the home-computer and comal-80 programming in school. I remember making music and graphics for computer-games that I planned, but I had to write it all down with pencil and paper because the damn thing couldn't save :)

I only had cassette storage. A floppy drive was out of my budget. I used to play Elite and it was amazing at the time.

Eventually we had the cassette storage too. I remember sitting while it was loading a game being all quiet because we had a feeling that if we disturbed it it would crash and we had to do it all over again.