Time to Delete Facebook and Move to Steemit

in #community6 years ago (edited)

Facebook demise has no end and this is good for them after their lies and hate against steemit and other cryptocurrencies even moving ahead and banning all ads related to crypto´s. It is thus time for all of us to inform our contacts to delete their Facebook account and move over to steemit where they will at least earn something .

According to The Sun

ELON MUSK is wiping his companies SpaceX and Tesla from Facebook.
The billionaire entrepreneur made the move in response to a comment on Twitter calling on him to support the delete Facebook movement.
Twitter users have been using the #deletefacebook hashtag to convince others to bin the platform, amid the company's latest privacy scandal.
After admitting that that he didn't know that Space X had a Facebook page, Musk went and deleted it anyway – along with that of his electric car company Tesla.

Pic Source:

The above campaign against facebook is not new because of Facebook´s management greed ie always wanting all the financial gain alone with their shareholders, using members datas to make more money and censoring people they don’t like or disagree with. Moreover, it is time we take advantage of the situation and join the campaign in order to grow our steemit membership-here are some few points:

**#Deletefacebook and #joinSteemit ** : we all can join tweeter campaign and use it for our own advantage by adding this hashtag #deletefacebook and #joinSteemit . This will create more awareness especially for those who have not heard about the ingenuity of steem ecosystem and how people can build their contacts, learn new things, build community and earn steem /SBD blogging what they like on steemit.

Growth means more success for all: The growth of steemit means more success for all of us because it will reflect on steem price especially if some new members buy steem and power up. Moreover, I am optimistic that this year will be a big success for all steemians because of the upcoming SMT, Hard Fork 20 (see my older posts for more details) and the demise of steemit (crypto) chief hater Facebook –hopefully most of their members will see steemit as a better alternative.
I do , however, understand that facebook will always be part of our social media especially those who love sharing their children pictures. However we have to let them know that we can not be used for ever and that there is a better blogging alternative ( Steemit) that at least shares revenue with their members.

Do you agree? Send in your comments . Resteem in order to reach more people and upvote to send in your support.

Click here and read my former post:I am a Steem Fat Cat – Sexy and I know it: Steem Power baby

An Advert for a top new crypto https://elyte.tech

A top Crypto firm is in need of a backend developer, contact me via steemit chat if you are interested or know someone
Join elyte.tech telegram group https://t.me/joinchat/E6tXj0dThqzzjVlWJRuxLw for info on their bounty and thus join the next best thing

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

I still have lots of friends on FB and it's the only reason I haven't deleted it. For as long as there's another option, many people will do whichever is easier and hassle-free for communication and sharing our posts to people outside steemit. For me, a gradual transition and dormancy of FB accts is more acceptable. At least, you have something to use to contact your friends if they don't give you other choices.

facebook has a lot of features steemit does not and I do not see facebook going any where for a long time unless steemit and bring to it's platform that FB has... I use both platforms daily and like both

I do agree but I also believe that the advertising on the platform is getting out of hand; for this reason, I am migrating away from FB, completely to steemit.

I disagree the needs of people change and Facebook just does'nt meet the criteria anymore...
The younger generation are more into social platforms such as reddit, snapchat etc. I don't see Facebook lasting more than 5 years if it is that long...

Very good point, for now we can use FB as platform for gossips, mum´s sharing children pics, selfies et al

You can easily remove all of your personal information but yet keep the account around to keep in touch with others while you all filter to a new platform.

Apparently Dan is making A steemit 2.0 (rumors)

same here, if all my friend moved, i will be deleted it

I am in for the steemit hashtag becasue this is going to create a buzz. We might me not able to make it to the top list but in any case at the end of the day, it is going to help us a lot.

People are thinking about that Facebook Users will become potential Reddit Users.
In this case I see would see a big outcome for steemit because people are getting into this kind of social media more easily then just by clicking on the like button with their nice bubble algorithms.

I agree...tme to spread the news...

Elon Musk deleting FB pages for Tesla and SpaceX is a telling sign. I’m not seeing a bright future for FB moving forward. Thanks for the post!

Welcome and more success to you

I agree fb time is up the truth is out there, im deleting my fb account this weekend.

Spreading the word on twitter #joinsteemit

Screenshot_20180328-015208.jpg

#Deletefacebook #joinSteemit any thing for my dear steemit community is good with me. Since joining Facebook, I didnt gain anything except seeing fake news, gossips , old friends (some are ok but not all lol) ..however in steemit, I make something and grateful. Go Go Go steemians, let us make this happen.

The worst part of facebook for me is that I cannot erase my details off of it completely.

Good point indeed, keep steeming to more success

What else could be even better than u get rewarded from ur Proof of Brain work! Keep steem on ppl!

I agree with you...keep steeming to more success

Yes im with you its time for greedy non profit sharing fb to go. Steemit is sharing the profits with the users, I love the business model.

I deleted fb in 2015 - so I guess that means im an early UN adopter. Who cares about fb? For years it has been exposed they sell your data. Why is the mainstream just now catching up? Screw fb - it's for old people anyways. Btw I like the delete fb and join Steemit twitter idea! That could catch on.

Point and I wish you more success here

Agreed, if I had an account at facebook, I'd delete it

I think Steemit needs to become a bit more "mainstream" or at least find a large niche if we are really going to be able to make money owning it longterm.

Which of course, I think we all want to do.

That said, I think it's time that management was a little more engaged to make this all happen at a better pace.

It would be great if more people on FB would move here, but the platform needs to be more social as well.

Good point, thanks for your comment

We need more advertising!

Point, I agree

I kinda agree... but steemit is more oriented to content creation, and not to post endless pics of babies. It´s always good to bring more people here, but the majority of content that populates facebook is too stupid to qualify as a decent post for steemit.

Agreed, I think they work well for separate reasons. That's why I think that there will always be something like Facebook for sharing family things.

Indeed

@charles1 great post as always.

Do I think it's time for Facebook to leave, YES.

There was a time I deleted my FB account due to the same things @ronja1 listed but I got back on it and my privacy settings are under lock. I do agree FB adds no value to our lives but also on the flip side if you're a business or a brand, FB's Ad targeting still carries weight.

I do , however, understand that Facebook will always be part of our social media especially those who love sharing their children pictures.

This part cracked me up :))
I'm sure there's room for that on Steepshot with the potential of building a fund for those children :))

Well executed on Elon's part. Upvoted and Resteemed.

Very good comment indeed, keep steeming to more success

The fact that Twitter users are using hashtags to encourage the deletion of Facebook accounts is funny considering they are part of the whole Alphabet/Google group themselves...and it was only a matter of time before Twitter announced their own ban on all things Crypto! I guarentee several other (google strategic partners either ongoing or past) high profile Tech/Finance/Media companies will follow suit in the coming months. Its obvious to me that this is a long term plan to allow Alphabet/Google to face less competition when (not if) they reveal their as yet unannounced blockchain assets. As of late, its been acquiring and investing in startups with digital ledger expertise. Many of these deals haven’t been announced officially but research firm CB Insights reported Alphabet was a leading corporate investor in the field last year, ahead of Bank of America, Citigroup Inc., and Goldman Sachs Group Inc! Except for Japanese company SBI Holdings, CB Insights lists Alphabet as the largest corporate blockchain investor with six investments through its Google Ventures arm. Finally i found this statement from Scott Spencor, FB head of sustainable ads..."We don't have a crystal ball to know where the future is going to go with cryptocurrencies, but we've seen enough consumer harm or potential for consumer harm that it's an area that we want to approach with extreme caution." This was March 14th. I think after reading all of the above this statement says it all! Have a good read of Wikipedia's pages aswell and count the number of lies, contradictions and legal issues...they have been at it from the very start. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google#Criticism_and_controversy

Very good point, thanks for your comment

The most important is the role of steemians in spreading steemit via several modalities. as far as I'm concerned and since my actual registration at steemit it's been almost 3 or 4 months, the number of times I have visited facebook are in total 5 to 6, which means that every individual is attached to a social network and browsing and working on steemit made me forget about facebook as well as other bad habits on the internet (useless sites).

The effort I have provided was helping many friends and cousins join the steemit community by encouraging them to produce quality content and to wait patiently to reap the rewards later.

Very good pot indeed which I analysed in my older posts. I wish you more suceess

i deleted fb 1 year ago hehhe

Hahaha, more success to you here bud

yeah am concentrate on it

The time of facebook has come to an end. Steemit allows us to earn some money by investing the same time we invest in Facebook. For that reason our little friend Mark is so desperate about the subject of cryptos. Very good post friend, greetings from Venezuela!

Yes, I agree. More success to you

I have done already! Time to get paid for commenting.

Amen...more success to you.

It's not Facebook's irresponsible sharing of user data that bothers me as much as how it has become a place for people to brag about their exotic vacations and their kids' academic and athletic achievements. Studies show that Facebook is a big cause of depression, because people see how wonderful other people's lives seem compared to their own, and they are envious.

"Seem" is the key word here because in reality, no one's life is as wonderful as they portray it to be on Facebook. When was the last time you saw someone post, "Ugggh, my daughter got knocked up again but the loser boyfriend?"

Facebook should be called "Fakebook", because that's what it is. It has no bearing on what life is really like for individuals or companies that post there.

Fake news or fake book indeed , good point. As a new members, see my older posts for more tips on how to succeed here. I wish you success

Yes man, totally! Fuck facebook. Great post @charles1. Followed and upvoted.

Welcome and more success to you

Great post @charles1 ! sadly, l can't delete my facebook accounts(yes l have several)due to business,but l do think that it's time to change and iinvest in a media platform that rewards you when you post! #joinsteemit all the way!
l upvoted and resteemed this post, keep up the good work!
:)

Great, Thanks for your comment.

finally there is a portal where freedom of speech is:)

Point, I agree

I think deleting facebook account is not the right path to take, because we have now better social network that can be even bigger, we have to invite more people from facebook into steemit and we can delete it later when steemit will be much bigger.

Yes that is a good strategy...More success to you

crazy how the timing of these things work out . I mean I know steemit has been around for a few years already but its cool to see how the buzz around data privacy has seems to have reached its breaking point now with the facebook breach and the timing is just right for steemit, which has been exploding in recent months to come in and fill that void .
#deleteFacebook

Point, steemit better take this opportunity to gain market share

To me , facebook is a business platform, a place where i can advertise my work and reach out to clients easily. Its more than just a chat , rumour, photo sharing thing. I can reduce my persoanl posts but not delete fb, atleast not for now. Thats one thing facebook does that steemit cannot do.

Good for you, I wish you more success.

Facebook problem with making a virtual world of oneself is akin to the problem with projecting ourselves onto a cyberworld: there’s no end of virtual spaces in which to seek stimulation, but their very endlessness, the perpetual stimulation without satisfaction, becomes imprisoning. So demise facebook and move on steemit.

Point....I agree with you.

steady. I have moved to steemit and I invite my friends to share knowledge in steemit

Good point, more success to you

I think sites like Steemit are the future of websites. Generating money will always be difficult for websites. This model allows the website to generate income without resorting to selling their users data.

Very good point,I agree. Keep steeming to more success

i am agree this post.. i am ready to delete my FB

Hahaha ...actio speaks louder than words isnt it?

briefly bro, I can not delete because I am outside the city. Laptop still at home. I've been told by @haminte yesterday

So I totally agree that Steemit is better than Facebook because it is a lot less prone to cencorship and rewards the users. But since steemit cannot remove posts, what would we do if something like the tide pod challenge got on the "Hot" page? It would obviously be horrible to have stupid teenagers eating tide pods on the front page of steemit. But how would we deal with removing that? The best answer I can think of is just making a community effort.

That is why you can flag or downvote such posts if you dont like them...

But what if people think eating tide pods is funny and they upvote it instead and then some stupid teenager goes into the laundry room, gets a tide pod, and eats it just because he wants likes on his video?

I'm new here, and I see some truth here.

Welcome to steemit, see my older posts for tips to succeed here

Thanks..
Also view my posts and help wid some upvotes please

Totally agree with you. Google and Facebook are their own worst enemy and by banning crypto ads its just another nail in their coffin

I agree. Time for we the people to take fight to them

I just posted about it in Kr tag. And here is my opinion.
More than 80 percentage of analysts in Wall Street strongly believe that FB's stocks will be increasing as time flows. So now we, steemians, have to attract users who are tired of using facebook and in #deletefacebook campaign. But there are several problems

  1. It takes two weeks to get approved from steemit. (After you sign in, you literally have to wait for 2 weeks to be approved and become a member of steemit. ) people do not have that much patience.
  2. People who do not know about block-chain and STEEM will be really hard to adapt in.
  3. If you think about speed, UI, UX, interface, and others. There is nothing better than FB, Insta, and twitter. (People do not even know how to use Markdown.) Only reward is distinctive point, but as a newbie, how much he/she will earn for a day?

Yet, I love Steemit, and I am looking for solutions to these questions that i have. If you have any solution or insights, please share with me. So i can use it in kr steemit.

Thanks for reading this long comment.

You have a very good point indeed..however these issues will be resolved in the upcoming Hfork20...see my older posts for details about it. I wish you success

Thanks, i will leave comments after reading your older posts.

I am an entertainer. Facebook is really helpful in organizing and rallying my fan-base. I would love a platform that's less dirty than FB, that I can connect and interact with my fans. I'm hoping that will be Steemit or some other platform one day. But for now I'm on Facebook to engage fans and promote my work.

You have a good point, I agree. More success to you

aww. very true. I already delete facebook.

Good , and am sure that you are enjoying steemit...I wish you more success

great Ads at good timing

I agree

Fackbook is old news and full of grandmas. Smells like hot garbage.

Hahahahahah...Point!!!

100% agreed let me share with you i have already deleted my account. when i joined steemit family i felt that steemit has more attractice then FB.

I request steemit family to re-steem this post as much as you can and drop comments on @charles1 post.

Welcome and more success to you

I thought the same. Let´s wait until there are more of my friends on Steemit and then I will delete my fb account. I think Steemit has a great Future in the World of Social Media. #joinSteemit

damn its true. already do that :)

In a world where farmers can have a steemit side income —-fingers crossed—

Amen to that...I agree

Yes of course and at last I guess I have an articulate man in here with great speech so fascinating. Facebook now to me is nothing to write home about I see more light in here though not earning much yet ......... But I see my future more brighter than the facebook that I joined over two decades with nothing till now ......... Go get them to hear this in full support ...... #deletefacebook #joinsteemit

Very good point and I wish you more success here

Thanks greatly....

There is no doubt that steemit is too good to us but I just can't compare it to some other social media, compare with something i found such a big insult so better we don't insult by comparing, steemit definitely worth our time :)

I agree wth you...point!!

Absolutely! I rarely use Facebook in the last weeks. I am using Steemit to share posts and connecting with friends through whats aap. Steemit gave us already all what we need :)

Good point, I wish you more success

Thank you, same to you :)

Good line @charles1

"However we have to let them (facebook) know that we can not be used for ever and that there is a better blogging alternative ( Steemit) that at least shares revenue with their members."

You may have all the details of what facebook has and is doing wrong, because it finally found its way to the public.

We may not know for now, what #steemit may be doing wrong too, but it looks better, their story look better than what we ever had.

Every site, paying you or not, is a borrowed website. None of us own the internet and these things are just for a passing time.

Something else will come tomorrow that is bigger than the internet and we will want that 'next thing' like steemit and dump that 'old thing' like facebook.

All in all, nothing will probably stand forever, but for now, we tightly embrace steemit.

Cheers and thanks for sharing.

Very good point...however most things at least for now, revolve around the internet even blockchain tech...however you never know because anything is possible. Good comment, and more success to you.

That's right @charles1

While we are here, let's make the best out of everything we have.

Cheers.

I only use Facebook these days for buying things, they have some 'rooms' which are useful to me. I place my Steemit articles on my wall usually to a resonanting silence, people dont like change.

I agree however those who like change and embrace it always succeed in the long run

Had i known this platform earlier, i wouldnt have waste my precious time on facebook

Same here....good point. More success to you.

Amen. And you too

Actually I still running my Facebook because of my business, because I earn a lot of clients there. I almost don’t use it for personal. I think the future of social media’s is in platforms like Steemit 👍🏼

Point...keep steeming to more success

Give this a read guys source this data war is real.

Yes
As I said last week in your post
Facebook is not worth using.
We do not have the advantage of our post.
We just get the junk and the comments that drop from the post that we show.

Point, more success to you

There are 3 pages
Pages