To All Those Asking: Where Do Live and What is My Nationality? Let's Help Marawi instead...

in #community7 years ago

Who among you here have been to the Philippines? Have you heard of Marawi?

You might now have an idea on where I live and what my nationality is.

When the fighting started in Marawi last May 23, 2017, it was not clear to us on who the enemy really was.

On Facebook, I saw images of bandits raising the ISIS flag. Yet, on TV, officials are saying that everything is under control.

There was confusion all over the place as hundreds of military came to Marawi in full battle gears.

Days later, the President declared Martial Law in all of Mindanao.

We were travelling when it was declared. My mom was worried about us and ask us to stay foot.

I told my mom through a text message that we are all fine. I even told her that I feel safer this time that there is Martial Law, at least I know the Police and the Military are doing their job to protect us.

Many of my Muslim friends have flew Marawi, including those who lived in the nearby areas.

I can't describe the feeling of those families whose relatives are trapped or among the soldiers fighting the "enemies".

This video says it all:

I've been thinking of ways on how to help the people affected by this "war". Recently, a friend suggested: "Why not raise a campaign on Steemit?".

The idea was to set-up a drive or campaign by encouraging people to join Steemit and "upvote" the article/post related to that campaign.

The amount generated will be given to those who were affected.

The problem now is how exactly are we going to give the money. Are we going to give the money directly? Maybe set-up a scholarship program? Conduct a Medical Mission? Buy goods, food, etc.? or Help in the Housing Program?

It would be great also that people would know that this money is from Steemit and the Steemians.

I'd love to know your suggestions. I love you all.

Sort:  

I'm glad to hear your Mom and family are safe mate, thank you for sharing this story.

thanks...and you are welcome

Congratulations @cheekspear! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!